We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Western Road, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland (Formerly Harbour Heights Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was good and basic! It served good value food, has a pleasant bar with a live fire, and the staff were very pleasant. Do not expect harbour views as the Western Isles Hotel is in front so you won't see much. It has a medium sized car park, and nice garden and pond,but access from the harbour is up a steep hill with a difficult bend which takes you up to the Western Hotel first. The walk up and down the hill from the harbour will be a good way to walk off your meal and generate a thirst for later!

Room Tip: Don't expect a harbour view from this location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    76
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
85
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A simple and modest hotel but which delivers within expectations, with nice and helpful staff. Bear in mind that the hotel in on the hill above the harbour, which means you will have to climb back up if you are going for dinner in town (10mn walk).

No wifi in the rooms (only in the breakfast room).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were very disappointed in the Park Lodge. Had understood it was up above the bay in Tobermory but it has no view at all. It was supposed to be a superior room so not sure what the basic room must be like. Very disappointed the whole hotel is bit basic and sad just not what we had thought it would be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Five family members, in three rooms stayed at the Park Lodge in mid July. We were on a week long holiday in Scotland and were at this very comfortable little hotel for two nights,

The rooms were clean and quite comfortable. These are not large rooms, but were big enough to accomodate all of our extra baggage. Bathrooms were ensuite and showers were great.

What makes this hotel so nice is the welcoming staff, the wonderfull lounge with bar and the adjoining dining room. Every member of the staff made us feel at home and could not do enough for us.

Breakfasts were first class that ranged from juice and cold cereal to a full hot breakfast and everything in between.

The hotel is located above the harbor and is just a short walk downhill to the city hub.

We were in Tobermory to see their Highland Games and as luck would have it, the torrential rains stopped for our stay and we experienced the most fantastic summer weather in Scotland.

The residents of Tobermory made us feel as though we were long lost relatives. The island itself is beautiful and should not be missed.

A last note here......we asked the staff to recommend a restaurant in town and they directed us to Cafe Fish at the end of the harbor. Do not miss eating there! It is one of the best restaurants we have ever visited. I don't think you could make a seafood any better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my husband and myself first stay in this hotel and, because of this particular busy period, we were offered 'standard' accommodation.
This included a spotlessly clean ensuite room and everything you could wish for (including hairdryer, complimentary tea/coffee and shower gel/shampoo).
The large 'tilt & turn' windows in the room and ensuite made them very bright and airy.
Storage space was fine.
The staff were delightful, politely friendly and very helpful. Food was great - both breakfast and several evening meals we sampled.
Free wifi was available in the bar and restaurant areas.
The apparently thinnish walls between rooms/bathrooms are due to the age and previous historical use of the building but were not a particular problem to us.
We were on the Island for a week-long event and our several late nights were no problem.
The lift to the upper floors no longer functions but the receptionist helped carry our large case up the stairs.
There was no telephone in the room.
We ate in several different restaurants, all of which were good but we ran out of time to sample more and made a quick visit to as many of the shops as we could; they are all good and between them cover the full range of everyday requirements and also the one-off's.

Room Tip: Considering it was a 'standard' room, we were next to the 'suites' so feel that we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, clean and tidy nicely decorated staff were helpful and polite, breakfast was good would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 at end of corridor with good views of Tobermory
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It was our first stay at the hotel and came away quite impressed by the pleasant atmosphere, cleanliness and obvious good working relationships between the staff. The food was very good and great value for money. Having stayed in most of the hotels Tobermory has to offer, I would rate Park lodge as one of the best.

Well done! I'm sure we will be staying with you again and of course, recommending you also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Western Road, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland (Formerly Harbour Heights Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tobermory
Park Lodge Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.