We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Western Road, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland (Formerly Harbour Heights Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Tobermory B&B and Inns
westsussex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A lovely small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my husband and myself first stay in this hotel and, because of this particular busy period, we were offered 'standard' accommodation.
This included a spotlessly clean ensuite room and everything you could wish for (including hairdryer, complimentary tea/coffee and shower gel/shampoo).
The large 'tilt & turn' windows in the room and ensuite made them very bright and airy.
Storage space was fine.
The staff were delightful, politely friendly and very helpful. Food was great - both breakfast and several evening meals we sampled.
Free wifi was available in the bar and restaurant areas.
The apparently thinnish walls between rooms/bathrooms are due to the age and previous historical use of the building but were not a particular problem to us.
We were on the Island for a week-long event and our several late nights were no problem.
The lift to the upper floors no longer functions but the receptionist helped carry our large case up the stairs.
There was no telephone in the room.
We ate in several different restaurants, all of which were good but we ran out of time to sample more and made a quick visit to as many of the shops as we could; they are all good and between them cover the full range of everyday requirements and also the one-off's.

Room Tip: Considering it was a 'standard' room, we were next to the 'suites' so feel that we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
64
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, clean and tidy nicely decorated staff were helpful and polite, breakfast was good would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 at end of corridor with good views of Tobermory
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It was our first stay at the hotel and came away quite impressed by the pleasant atmosphere, cleanliness and obvious good working relationships between the staff. The food was very good and great value for money. Having stayed in most of the hotels Tobermory has to offer, I would rate Park lodge as one of the best.

Well done! I'm sure we will be staying with you again and of course, recommending you also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my Husband and 12 year old Daughter.
The hotel sits at the top of Tobermory in a nice quite area with a garden.
We arrived early and were greeted by Rebecca the owner who is lovely, very helpful and friendly.
We were shown around and taken to our room.
Our room was clean and tidy with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had a double with a small box room which our Daughter slept in. This was perfect as it gave us all a bit of space. The bathroom was a really good size.
We enjoyed using the bar/lounge area in the afternoon after a day spent sightseeing. As the weather was sunny throughout our stay we also enjoyed an al fresco beer in the garden.
My Daughter loved the dart board and local dogs. Give her games to play and animals to fuss over and she's happy.
There was entertainment on, on the Friday evening which was very good and attracted locals and tourists alike.
We ate in one night and the food was really enjoyable, home made and fresh.
I took a light breakfast both mornings as I've done the whole cooked breakfast thing to death over the years. The breakfast menu gave several options to suit all tastes.
Tobermory is a lovely, friendly place. I adore it and always make plans to return as soon as I get home. I always feel sad leaving the island. It's so nice to get away from city life for a relaxing break.
There are several good places to eat in the village. I've eaten in the Crystal Palace Chinese several times now as I tend to get fed up with traditional food after a few days and need a change. Their food is delicious and service first class.
We also ate lunch in the Mishnish restaurant during this trip. It's bright, modern and the food is very good. I've always had a huge soft spot for the Mishnish Bar next door and my hubby who is a die hard Rangers fan loves their shrine of scarves, jerseys and memorabilia so we popped in for a couple of drinks and my Daughter made full use of their darts board and pool table. I swear if she'd stayed any longer she'd have taken up dominoes - a nice change from sitting glued in front of a games console.
The conservatory at the Western Isles Hotel is also worth a visit for soup a sandwich and spectacular views across the bay.
During this trip we managed to spot an eagle, seals a bat and various other birds as well as the distilleries ginger toms, Tobermory and Ledaig. Who are Facebook stars!!
We look forward to returning next April during our 2013 Easter Break.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Take a street map with you because this hotel is tricky to find, especially in the dark and hooking on to Google maps with T-mobile is impossible (I turned my phone off for the duration of our stay which was actually quite liberating). The quay-side is a short (5 minutes) walk downhill and coming back up was good exercise. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. There was an unscheduled powercut at breakfast time and we were kept well informed. The owners are lovely locals who have recently taken over the hotel and are keen to act on feedback from guests.

In our experience Scottish hotel decor varies greatly to that found in the South of England so do not expect luxurious fittings and fabrics. However, this hotel is clean and comfortable. We had a superior room which had lots of space for our cases and paraphenalia, a dressing room and large bathroom, with shower over the bath. We had plenty of drawer and hanging space, a shoe rack, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The rooms are quite well sound insulated, however, on the second morning I was woken at 05:30 am by the guest next door shaving but I am a very light sleeper and my husband was not disturbed at all.

The lounge bar does feel a little club-house-like with MTV playing but has comfortable seating, is lovely when the fire is lit, and has Fyne Ales on tap at a price that, in our experience, beat other places in Tobermory. Breakfast consists of a selection of cereals, fruit and juices, to which you can help yourself, and then a range of freshly prepared hot dishes. It was a delicious and calm start to the day. Dinner was fairly priced, tasty and the portions were good. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 & 17 form a suite. Room 16, on the first floor had a dressing room, large bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

great place to stay staff local and very helfull. food great and well worth the price we will be back again best place we have stayed on mull having been to mull a few times

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormiston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Found this hotel a bit difficult to find as road closures due to roadworks in town. Hotel is situated high above the bay. Given a free upgrade due to hotel being quiet, but to be honest would not have paid the right price for that room. Dining room could do with being more cosier as the feeling is of a club hall, very bare with basic tables and chairs. Dinner was OK, nothing more. Could not find anyone when checking out in morning, even entering kitchen area. Stay was ok, nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Western Road, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland (Formerly Harbour Heights Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tobermory
Park Lodge Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.