We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the room you stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strongarbh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strongarbh House
Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Depends on the room you stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Adrian was very pleasant when I spoke to him to make the booking. We knew that there wasn't a TV in the room before we booked. But for the price you kinda assume one would have a TV. Adrian was quite accommodating by admitting us at midnight as we took the last ferry from Oban. I was also glad that they were not grumpy (as some people might be) when we went a little late in the morning for breakfast (Breakfast served from 830-930am). On the first day we were served Vege haggis which was delicious. Not sure why we weren't served thee same the second day- though it was still a full scottish veg breakfast. Adrian and Jane are a surprisingly young couple-to be running a B&B i.e. This is quite refreshing but the downside is that you don't get the same chatter/advice one might get from a wiser middle-aged/older landlord. Having said that both Adrian and Jane were quite helpful in giving advice when asked. But when you go to a countryside B&B one expects a more personal service and chatter. I guess they will pick up with experience. Some of the rooms in the house have gorgeous views and were quite spacious. Our room however had no views, the glass frosted and the room and en-suite were not as spacious as the others. The bed sheets appeared a bit worn. So I felt the price of 85£/night was a bit pricey esp ith no TV and I wouldn;t call the decor necessarily plush. However the two front rooms esp the 4-poster room looked really nice. So if you stay there you might have a different experience. The pressure shower in the bath is however one of the best and everything in the room was organic (if you are into this kinda thing)

The reason for my 3* instead of 5* rating
1. No TV. Pricey for the facilities offered, small room and decor plain.
2. We were a bit disappointed on the second day when we went for breakfast. We were 15 mins late. However there was only a small bread loaf left and the bits left were the 2 edge slices that the others left behind. When we asked Adrian for more bread he said' there is enough' meaning that we were supposed to make do with the end loaves available. When we pointed that out he said they only bake one loaf a day. He didn't even offer an apology. I have to say we were quite offended. One would have expected them to be sensible enough to have spare bread (home-baked or not). Its not that guests would cry for home-baked bread. We were offered crumpets but as I said earlier a simple apology would have made us feel better.

Having said all this if you were staying in one of the more spacious rooms and you are not vegetarian- you might have a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
est1848, Owner at Strongarbh House, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We work hard to ensure that all our guests receive the same high level of service and would like the opportunity to respond to your comments.

Room Facilities:

We currently offer rooms at three price levels and the room that you stayed in was in the lowest of these. These levels are informed by the size of the room, the size of the bed, and the view. - basically the three things that we cannot change! In all other aspects the rooms offer the same facilities and level of comfort. We have tried to make this pricing consistent and fair and we believe that each level offers good value for money for the overall experience. We are sorry that you did not feel this was the case, particularly as you were offered an upgrade for the second night of your stay.

There is no frosted glass in the room you stayed in - or any of our bedrooms, so we are not sure what this refers to.

Televisions:

We are clear in stating that we do not have televisions at Strongarbh. We believe this is a positive choice, and one which greatly enhances the quality of stay for our guests, helping to provide a calm and relaxing environment that offers a genuine chance to get away. We continue to receive very positive feedback about this, particularly from guests who are surprised at how much difference it makes to their holiday experience. We're not to cut off completely - all bedrooms have radios, with integral iPod docks/MP3 player inputs, the whole house is WiFi enabled and the library is full of a wide range of books, local information, games and weekend papers. Having said this, if the presence of television is a real dealbreaker then Strongarbh is probably not the right B&B to choose.

Breakfast:

Once again, we are sorry if you were disappointed in any way with the service you received, but to our knowledge we served you exactly what you ordered each day and responded to your requests as we understood them.

We provide a daily menu choice of six hot breakfasts, of which four are always fish-based or vegetarian. The menu also includes a special, which changes daily, most of which are pescetarian or vegetarian. We receive very positive comments about the depth of our choices in catering for these diets, and where possible, we are happy to respond to more personal requests. In addition we offer fresh prepared fruit and homebaked bread daily, (supplemented by bagels, muffins or crumpets when appropriate).

Service:

Our aim is to offer a discrete yet personal service, striving to achieve a balance between being available for guests, yet providing a generous amount of personal space. Comments we receive suggest that this works well. We are always on hand at check in, after breakfast and at many other times. We can be easily contacted and are only too happy to assist with local information and advice. Our relative youth should not be mistaken for lack of experience or diligence in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
129
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed for a week in August and just loved the place. Very relaxing and comfortable. NIce design touches in the rooms and very clean and tidy.
Breakfasts were very good! Looked forward to seeing what the specials were each day.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We have just had a very relaxing week in the recently refurbished Strongarbh House.

The Victorian House has been tastefully and sensitively refurbished by the new owners with some interesting touches such as the iPod Dock Stations, and really cosy beds. Who needs a TV when there's a Library and loads of board games on offer for you to use?

The breakfast was fantastic and the service was discreet.

Another real plus point was the way in which the owners were heating the house via an eco-friendly wood chip boiler using waste wood chippings form the island's forests. Appartently the system had been oversized so there was loads of hot water! Hobbs the cat was another plus.

We'll definately be back!

  • Liked — Decor and comfort
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Booked this place based on previous reviews, and frankly we WERE disappointed. Arriving after the advised check-in time the house was deserted with no note of explanation. Came back an hour later & was greeted by an embarrassed owner. Room 1 was spacious as previously described, but this time of year don't bank on the view, the windows are running with condensation and all the sills are black. For the price charged I think it should have been OUR choice whether to watch TV or not, not dictated by the owners. There is not a guest lounge & I guess the library mentioned on the website is the bookshelf in the hall as we were certainly never informed of any other area available to us as guests. Breakfast was nice with freshly made bread, not sure about the sausages though, we have certainly had as good if not better at other places we have stayed at and for less money.
Note: we are not TV addicts so it is not the 'Be all & end all ' but some sites that promote this b&b mention TVs in room/TV lounge which there isn't.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — no TV
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

A beautiful house and a warm welcome received from the helpful owners.

Exceptionally high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail. Rooms had every possible amenity required for a restful break including a superb view. The breakfasts were to die for, and the setting was so peaceful We'll be back

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We've just spent 2 days in Strongarbh House. The recently refurbished rooms were excellent: comfortable, well equipped, tastefully furnished and with great views out over Tobermory harbour and down the Sound of Mull. The beds and chairs were very comfortable and there was plenty of storage in drawers and wardrobes/closets. The room had an excellent coffee maker with fresh milk in the fridge. Breakfasts were wonderful and really set us up for the day in Mull; we dreamt about them for several days after we had left. And there was wi-fi available if needed.

  • Liked — V. comfortable accommodation, Great Views, Excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay at Strongarbh. The spacious accommodation has recently been refurbished to a very high standard, including huge, comfortable bed with top quality linen. Lots of nice touches, e.g. fresh coffee, chilled milk and water in rooms. Good range of breakfast options, including a 'daily special'. Food was excellent. It is definitely worth paying a little extra for the Strongharbh experience!

  • Liked — High standard of accommodation and excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strongarbh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strongarbh House

Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff above Tobermory Bay, Strongarbh is a handsome Victorian villa providing comfortable and distinctive accommodation. The house, set in spacious gardens and linked to the harbour via a private woodland path, offers a relaxing retreat in the heart of the town. Strongarbh offers luxurious bedrooms, tempting breakfasts and stylish public rooms in a beautiful period house filled with an eclectic collection of books and contemporary art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strongarbh House Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strongarbh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Strongarbh House to your Saves list