We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit while in Tobermory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mishnish Bar

The Mishnish Bar
Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NU, Scotland
01688-302009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 attractions in Tobermory
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome! With a long tradition of highland hospitality, our aim is to provide the very best service we can, the best in local and regional produce wherever possible and to encourage and support live music, especially traditional Scottish music.Having been in the family since 1869, a recent refurbishment has restored the Mishnish bar to its Victorian roots. The 5th-generation of MacLeods look forward to you enjoying a malt whisky by the fire, or a cask ale from our cellar and enjoying our regular live music.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must visit while in Tobermory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Mishnish is THE pub in Tobermory. There are a few other bars and pubs in town but every time I visit Tobermory I stop at the Mishnish for a glass of wine or a pint and either play a game of pool or listen to live music at night. It is very popular with the locals as well as tourists during the summer months.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rude bar staff and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My second visit to this pub. Thought I'd give it another chance. Wish I hadn't bothered. The bar was empty and when I went to the bar for the second time and asked for "the same again", the bar man said "you're not that memorable". This is typical of the welcome you will get in this bar. Also, it's dirty and overpriced. I'd give ot a miss if I were you. There are better places to have a beer in Tobermory.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mishnish twice before and will be staying there again in June (2013). The rooms are great and the bar is great. We played darts and just sat around chatting and drinking beer. The service was fine and we had fun. A few years ago we stayed at the Mishnish and we were outside in the "garden" area of the pub and met a couple from Glasgow and a gentleman from somewhere else, and we had a ball together--it was one of the highlights of our trips!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, North Yorks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loud music and great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mull Music Festival highlight - don't tell anybody! Good beer and even better music. Right on the waterfront with amazing views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Little Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything you could want from a small local - decent ale on tap and bottled, nice warm fire, cosy nooks and crannies to sit in and a decent restaurant next door (the Mishdish) that you can get some lunch/dinner in. We had the seafood platter for lunch one day and it was amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mishnish Bar also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to The Mishnish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mishnish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mishnish Bar to your Saves list