We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengorm Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glengorm Castle to your Saves list
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm, Tobermory PA75 6QE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We decided , at very short notice, to visit Mull and we wanted to stay at Glengorm Castle for a couple of nights as a special treat. We left our home in North Yorkshire en route to Oban without managing to confirm a booking at the Castle, and in fact only managed to confirm our booking whilst at the Calmac Terminal in Oban on the first morning of our trip.
On arrival at the Castle we were met by Pam, who introduced us to Tom Nelson, the owner ,who was in the midst of repairing a shower in one of the rooms.
We were upgraded,without charge, from our booked room to the Laorin room which was quite simply stunning. Huge views from the window over the Sound Of Mull and the outlying islands.
The room had a massive, comfy bed, and a huge bathroom with a bath so deep, it needed a lifeguard watching over you.
In the library there are views out to sea, and the added attraction of a selection of whisky for you to have, with the owner's compliments which was a really nice touch.
Breakfast was a feast, served in the lovely dining room. I am a short,squat,Scot and I enjoy an occasional fried breakfast when on holiday. Glengorm's breakfast was super with the finest black pudding I have ever tasted, and believe me, I have tasted plenty of black pudding.
The real beauty of the castle,apart from the building and the grounds ,is that it is obviously a much loved family home, with their 2 spaniels and cat having run of the place.
I cannot pretend that it is a particularly cheap destination, but was it worth the price,absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    29
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
35
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First time to see Scotland, so had decided i had to sleep in a castle, after some search, I had found Glengorm Castle. Had traveled for a day to get here, by train, ferry and taxi. I know I had made the right decision. I arrived in Glengorm Castle before sunset. It's an amazing 2 night stay. It has reasonable rate for a B&B. Great breakfast overlooking the Glengorm coast. The room is good and warm with ensuite bath, had stayed in Admore overlooking the sea. I had an amazing walk towards the Loch. Spent full day photographing and enjoying the weather. Doing the walk, I felt I was in my own private island... had relaxed lying down in the grass on top of the hill overlooking the loch. Very peaceful. Loved my stay... there's still a lot more to see.... will definitely come back. Sam who handled my booking was very responsive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here 3 days earlier this month and had a fabulous time. Large grounds to explore with many wild and domesticated animals, and even archaeological sites! The castle is actually a working ranch house, but owners Tom and Marjorie were very hospitable. Stayed in Laorin which was very large and had a great view toward the ocean. Breakfasts were huge and offer everything ever served on a Scottish breakfast. Great splurge if you don't already live in a castle. Nice selection of whiskeys in the library. Wi-fi also free!

Room Tip: Laorin was great with modern walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our castle night was the big splurge of our trip and it could not have been more perfect. We started the day in the morning meeting the Glengorm Estate resident naturalist, Steph, at the Café. She led us on a very comprehensive 7 hour hike of all ecological areas of the estate. We traveled coast, wood and river, all the while having every specimen of flora and fauna pointed out by Steph with explanations on history, how they got their name and how they interact with other organisms in the environment. Steph is a wealth of knowledge. She carried a telescope and helped us see eagles, seals, ocean birds and even a sea otter. Steph answered all of our questions about the history of the estate, it's previous owners and how the landscape had changed over the years. She is a passionate and lovely person and even if you can only drop into the nature lab for a chat or a quick walk we highly recommend it.
It is clear that the estate and castle are a labor of love and those who live and work there have been dedicated to making it a great place for decades. Tom and Pam were very helpful and accommodating, helping us find a high chair for our wee one and permitting us to make the kitchen and laundry room our own. The dining area was grand with a wonderful view and breakfast was delicious - the best cooked breakfast we had during our trip. The library had a great selection of single malts and was a cozy place in the evening. The rooms left nothing to be desired. We ordered up dinner from the Café and were very impressed. Tom and his family have done a wonderful job of making the castle feel luxurious without being cold and impersonal and it adds to the experience to know that a family makes it their home too. Give the two cute dogs a pat when you visit!

Room Tip: Mingary and Laorin both have great views. Love the bath in Laorin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September and we were not disappointed. The weather was a bit dull on arrival but sunshine the next day transformed the castle which looks stunning from the driveway on approach. Our room was very comfortable and the owner and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a feast with plenty of choice and fantastic views from the dining room. Guests have free use of the seating area in the hall and the library. Both are comfortable with log fires if need be.

The sun shone for us and the car never turned a wheel on the first day. There is plenty to do around the estate and the scenery is simply stunning. We spent an enjoyable couple of hours with Steph on a guided nature walk to Loch Mingary and this was followed by a meal at the coffee shop near the castle. During our stay plenty time was spent relaxing in the library and sampling the complementary whisky. The following day saw a spot of sunbathing at Calgary Bay which is nearby and well worth a visit as is Tobermory.

To sum up this is simply an amazing B&B to stay in, we both loved Glengorm and all it has to offer. It was a privilege to stay here and enjoy this very special place for a few days. But remember this is a B&B not a hotel so if you go expecting the latter you may well leave disappointed which would be a shame. Glengorm Castle, thanks to the approach of the Nelson family has got the balance spot on with a very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. The rest is up to you!

We tore ourselves away but have vowed to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time in a castle what a wonderful experience. Massive rooms and beautifully decorated. The best views you will ever have across the fields all the way to the sea. Lovely walks and peaceful surroundings.
WIFI downstairs only but not a problem if you can enjoy it with your complementary whiskey in front of a fireplace.
Great breakfast.
Definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We rented the self catering Lodge Cottage on the Glengorm Estate as part of a group of 12 friends for an anniversary.
The cottage was very well presented and equipped, with two good sized bedrooms, a bathroom with bath and shower, a fair sized kitchen and cosy sitting room with woodburner. We were very grateful for the latter as we had rain most days, so it was nice to come 'home' and light the fire.
The estate is huge and has glorious views. We walked most days and saw otters, eagles, seals, curlew etc. Lots of picturesque highland cattle too.
The coffee shop was always a welcome stop for mid morning coffee or a hot soup lunch. They will do takeaways too if you want to order a meal to take back to eat in your cottage in the evening.
Despite the weather the views were stunning and the pace of life slow. It's a 5 mile drive to Tobermory along a single track road but hardly necessary except to explore more of the island.
We hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengorm Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengorm Castle

Address: Glengorm, Tobermory PA75 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Northern tip of the Isle of Mull near Tobermory, Glengorm Castle overlooks the Atlantic and has spectacular views over the Outer Hebrides. The Castle was built in 1860 and sits at the headland of Glengorm's vast area of coastline, forests, lochs and hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glengorm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengorm Castle Hotel Tobermory
Glengorm Castle Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengorm Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.