We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tobermory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tobermory Hotel
Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Tobermory as part of our honeymoon and mentioned that upon our booking.
On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly Andi, one of the hotel owners. She welcomed us wonderfully and showed us to our room. The room was clean and bright and had a lovely bunch of flowers on the desk. The view was a 'harbour view' and it did not disappoint. Fabulous! All the staff we encountered couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
The lounge area for guests was very comfy and the hotel is fully licenced so a mid afternoon drink was no problem.
Overall our stay was excellent and we can't wait to go back.
Andi was incredibly helpful with local information, where to eat, drink and spot the best wildlife!
If you want a truly relaxing holiday this is the place to go!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    59
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
102
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We've recently returned from a short stay at this lovely little hotel! We were given a room at the front enjoying ever changing views over the pretty little harbour! The breakfast was wonderful and the hotel owners were very pleasant and helpful! We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A small friendly hotel on the sea front. Our room was excellent with a superb view of the harbour. A very comfortable bed and very well equipped. The bathroom was also good. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Our room had a sea view and could be a little noisy but the view is worth it.
The cleanliness of the room cannot be faulted. Comfy bed. Great bathroom with plenty space and a bath.
Great breakfasts with a good atmosphere. Service from the staff excellent. We also ate in the diner one night. Not a big menu but the food was good, reasonable and again the staff were excellent.
Parking was easy and free!!
Tobermory is a great town and the atmosphere is warm. Would go back and stay here again without hesitation. We did pay extra for a better room - worth it..
The owners have got it all working well - they should not change a thing

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Tobermory is a fabulous little town and the warm welcome in The Tobermory Hotel is a true reflection of the town's heart. The rooms are small, though clean and comfortable. As Jo90Montreal says, don't expect glamour, but you can expect fantastic food (the hotel restaurant venison burgers are out of this world) and beautiful views over the bay.
Everyone in the hotel is extremely helpful and happy to recommend activities and dining options if you have space after one of their full Scottish breakfasts.
The only negative is the noise; we had room 1 at the top of the first flight of stairs, and could hear every footstep and creak all night long. Could definitely do with some sound insulation! I'd still recommend this as a great stopping point in Tobermory.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Don’t expect glamour, you won’t find it here, but if you want a warm and friendly welcome you will most certainly get it.
The hotel is well situated on the water front and the rooms even if they are tiny are comfy and clean.
Nice breakfast served with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice Hotel on the sea front more B&B really but did the job with a clean comfortable bed, good if limited choice evening meal and good breakfast. Probably best to keep it simple and it worked. It's all we ask for but so many can't provide. Only negatives, rooms are very small small and could do with double glazing (wee bit noisy 1st thing). Acid test - would I go back - Yes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tobermory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tobermory Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a row of fishermen's cottages, these 300 year old buildings, set on the waterfront of picturesque Tobermory Bay, now house a delightful, family run hotel. Owners Ian and Andi Stevens, have created the kind of place that draws back guests time and time again. Relaxed and informal, "the kind of place you can kick off your shoes," the hotel offers efficient, friendly service. The staff team are long established and recruited from the island and are only too happy to share their local expertise. Star of the team is Head Chef, Helen Swinbanks, born and bred on the island and who uses her extensive knowledge of local produce and natural flair to create brilliant and original dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tobermory Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tobermory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Tobermory Hotel to your Saves list