We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Isles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Western Isles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Isles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strongarbh, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tobermory
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Westerns Isles is one of the vintage hotels we would return to. Vintage means that you can absorb the flair of days gone past while everything is functional, clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good and breakfast excellent. Some of the facilities could use a touch up but that is part of the charm of a vintage hotel. Fantastic views and within easy walking distance of the town centre. Good value for money, especially considering the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Cravalax

Thank you so much for your kind review, particularly that you enjoyed our 'vintage' feel....its not often we feel that we're 'on-trend'! But also that the location and views really made your holiday.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    163
    40
    25
    12
See reviews for
85
216
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had lunch here one day, and afternoon drinks another day. We were very lucky with the weather and sat out on the terrace.

The view is fantastic and on a good day there can't be too many better places to be sitting out in Tobermory than the terrace here.

The lunch we had was very good. A really nice fresh salad and freshly made quiche. The price was very good value.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

The only slight negative is that they could make more of the terrace area. Some more comfortable outdoor furniture would make the terrace more welcoming. Also a sign in the main part of Tobermory letting people that the hotel is open to non-residents and they have a fantastic terrace would increase the people using it.

Recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear PhilTheo

Thank you so much for your great review, much appreciated. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. We definitely take your point on board about the terrace, thank you.

Hope you get chance to stay with us in the future

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You may pay more to stay at the Western Isles but it is quite amazing. The hotel itself, rooms - especially ones with a view of the harbor as I had, etc etc. Very beautiful and tasteful. Had a very nice meal in the restaurant with views to die for. Since I arrived on the day of the Highland Games it was also ideal because we could follow the pipers up the hill in front of the hotel to the games but still make it back and forth to town for live music in the pubs at night. All in all, could not criticize anything -

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear bswuss

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave such a great review - it really is much appreciated by everyone

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently spent the first night of our holiday on Mull here and it was the perfect beginning. Our two 3 year old boys were cared for wonderfully both by the toys (an enormous train set), the food (great breakfast) and the staff who helped entertain them and even remove an unwanted tick! The views are magnificent and the hotel has bags of victorian charm - high ceilings, huge rooms and lots of original features. But the best thing was the staff - the warm welcome from Clare, the friendly service in the restaurant and the great care and attention from the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Simon56661

Thank you so much for your kind words which are really appreciated - we're very pleased we were able to help. Enjoy the rest of your week on Mull, and do pop in for a drink or to play with the train set!

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for two nights following on after our wedding reception, which also took place in the hotel. Our day was better than we ever could have imagined and although the look and character of the hotel was a large feature in this, the main reason was the hotels biggest asset, it's staff and proprietors. The food they served was wonderful and the room we had was big enough to fit our 120 guests nearly. It was real treat to sit and eat breakfast with my wife and look over the views of Tobermory harbour in the morning sun.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear GlasgowRustyLee

What an amazing day it was - memorable for all the right reasons! Thank you for your terrific review - we really do hope to see you back in Tobermory soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been visiting the Isle of Mull every year since 1990 and always make a point of calling in at the Western Isles Hotel for a bite to eat. We have always been made to feel most welcome and the service is excellent, as is the food. The view from the conservatory are quite breath taking, better still from the terrace. Looking forward already to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a window seat overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Charles P

Thank you so much for your kind words. It really is good to hear that our idyllic location is worth re-visiting time and time again. Hope you get the chance to return soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay for two nights and really appreciated how the hotel has improved since we last visited five years ago, while still retaining classic features such as the threadbare mounted deer heads. Impressed by the green credentials and the investment in staff, who were all charming and hard working. Food was good. Having just celebrated my 60th on Colonsay, I immediately started planning to come to the Western Isles for my 70th! By then the gardens - which look gorgeous - should be open. Who knows what further improvements are to come? Please don't lose too many of the old features though. I had a quick look in gents' loo and it is a classic and should be celebrated. Susie Parr

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Susie

Its fantastic to hear how much you've enjoyed and appreciated the changes we've made over the past few years. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share. We hope you get the chance to return a little sooner than your 70th!

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Address: Strongarbh, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. This charming hotel returned to private ownership in September 2008, and is now undergoing a slow transformation back to its former glory. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Isles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.