We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobermory Distillery

Tobermory Distillery
High Street, Tobermory PA75 , Scotland
+44 (0) 1688 302 647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 attractions in Tobermory
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Attraction Details
north wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really nice tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked a tour via email but tours can be booked in the shop attached to the distillery. Husband and i really enjoyed the tour which was very informative and interesting. Definitely a must for those who visit the island. The drams of whiskey at the end finish off the tour nicely. Lots of steps here so could imagine it would be quite difficult for those with limited mobility but the tour starts and finishes in the shop area which is all level.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    7
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've done this tour a couple of times and I never get bored! Great value for money and fascinating how whiskey is made.

OH and you get to drink!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If You Like a Wee Dram”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Tobermory is a stunning background made all the better for having a Distillery at one end. We had about a one hour wait before we could get the next guided tour, but it was worth it. Its nearness to the sea (set in a Bay), means it is not hard to see how this would influence the final flavour. At the tasting you get the chance to try 2 different whiskies that they produce, both good in my books. Found the history of the buildings and how it has evolved to what they use today, quite interesting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and an ok tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

It seems to be the norm that staff at distillery tasting rooms throughout the UK are not the overwhelmingly welcoming and inviting type you might hope to find as a novice whiskey drinker trying to learn more about such a delicious spirit. However, the staff here did a decent job of conversing with us and letting us taste their offerings. We left with a couple small bottles and were impressed with the quality of their 10yr.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

the shop at Tobermory distillery is well laid out and manned by helpful staff. even if you dont like whisky try the Tobermory Tablet (fudge) some of the best i have tasted

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobermory Distillery also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Tobermory Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobermory Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tobermory Distillery to your Saves list