We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macgochans

Macgochans
Ledaig | Ledaig, Tobermory pa75 6nr, Scotland
01688 302350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Tobermory
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingjngham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What can I say, what a lovely warm friendly atmosphere the staff were friendly and accommodating and children are welcome. The food was well priced and of a very good standard.
Fantastic place and well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    149
    54
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great pub food and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had drinks here one night in Tobermory and enjoyed the atmosphere that we returned to eat the next day, the meal was excellent, Staff were friendly and quite knowledgable about the local malts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“another great burger ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a couple of lunchtimes at MacGochans while on the Isle of Mull for "the best rally in the world Each year in October for the last 40+ years the island is taken over by the Mull Rally.
120 cars with their associated drivers, navigators and team members arrived this year and Mull copes admirably. Why do I tell you this? Well generally when the going gets tough in the catering industry ...the meals get tougher! Not at MacGochans. The staff cheerfully handled a thriving and enthusiastic audience needing fed and watered wih aplomb. Cherfully a succession of fine dishes emerged from the kitchen.
Mine was a Rodeo burger. A proper home made with the finest local steak mince type of burger. With cheese and bacon and a decent supply of chips and a little greenery to make us feel healthy.
It was so good I came back the next day for lunch with a friend .. we both had the steak pie veg and potato - actually Greg had chips!
It was magnificent - melt in the mouth beef from the local Glengorm estate..lovely mash and fine veg topped with a fine crust of pastry. Coffee topped it off but later we enjoyed great beers and a splendid selection of malts were available.The finest wee cosy bar (Bar Beag) next door has now reopened and ready for the smaller anticipated winter trade. Wood fire and a warm welcome awaits in Tobermory.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Friendly staff great service and food.The drinks are very reasonably priced and lots of parking and only a 30 second walk in to town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good British food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed many nights here for tea with the children and without,
The staff are always friendly and helpful.
The food is always tasty well cooked, hot and well presented.
I would recommend coming here for a meal to everyone that comes to the island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macgochans also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Macgochans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macgochans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.