We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fascadail Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fascadail Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Fascadail Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Salen Isle of Mull, Salen PA72 6JB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Salen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had 5 happy days there (I LOVE Mull!). Judith and Martin are such welcoming hosts, and they couldn't be more helpful. I lost a jacket in Tobermory, but Judith phoned around and found it for me, and arranged for it to be brought back to the B&B - how's that for service above and beyond! And they are both so knowledgeable about the local wildlife - we found everything we were looking for. Plus the rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable, and the breakfasts are delicious, so what more could you ask?

Room Tip: We had two rooms upstairs - no complaints, both rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you again, and great you could enjoy Mull with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our room was comfortable, the en-suite shower room quite spacious and breakfast was taken at a large table with the other guests. Outside the patio doors was a bird feeder which was entertaining during breakfast. The B&B is in Salen, easily accessible from the Oban ferry or the Lochaline/Fishnish ferry and situated in the middle of the island giving easy access to Tobermory and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It was nice to meet you. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at Fascadail. We enjoyed the comfortable, spotlessly clean room, excellent breakfasts and friendly, welcoming hosts, Judith and Martin. We thoroughly recommended Fascadail and will definitely stay here again on future visits to Mull.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend Tom and I spent Friday to Monday with Judith and Martin last weekend, comfortable room, quiet location, lovely sleeps and then fab breakfast all in the most friendly and informal style. This is our second visit and hope to be able to get back some day soon! Thoroughly recommended, especially the Siskins laid on for watching over breakfast!

Room Tip: I think they are all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we've stopped at Fascadail.Great hosts in Judith and Martin,spotlessly clean rooms and a great breakfast,looking forward to next years stay already.
The bonus is they also run Mull Charters which does the trips for the White-tailed Eagles which are great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for the review Geoff. It was great to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Fascadail in early May. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and unbelieveably quiet. We were made to feel right at home. The location was perfect for exploring Mull, not far from the ferries and central for day trips to Tobermory, Iona, and island touring. We met fabulous people from around the world with a family style breakfast table. The food was amazing and made to order each morning - more than enough to keep you going all day. A great family and great ambassadors for the isle of Mull.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad you enjoyed your time with us at Fascadail and enjoyed meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I booked two nights at this B&B, partly as we had also booked the Sea Eagles trip with Martin and his Mull Charters firm. Martin and his wife Judith also own this B&B.

Martin and Judith are fantastic hosts and will happily help you with any queries you have about Mull, its attractions, locations and wildlife.

We had a double ensuite, which was very clean and had wonderful matching decor. There's a TV, DVD Player, free WiFi, tea and coffee and a very cosy room.

Sleep was perfect as the home and village are wonderfully quiet and the breakfasts, served at the dining table in the family's lounge, are superb. Judith comes round the night before to take your order and will happily try to cater for you. The food was beautiful. We started with Scottish porridge (definitely recommended!), following by a main breakfast meal and then there's toast with preserves if you have any room left!

Futhermore, the breakfast is served next to a large window where you can watch an amazing array of birds visit the feeders outside, including Yellowhammers, Redpoll and Siskins.

Fascadail comes highly recommended and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fascadail, Owner at Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fascadail Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fascadail Bed & Breakfast

Address: Salen Isle of Mull, Salen PA72 6JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable accommodation in this friendly family home. Centrally situated in salen making fascadail ideal for exploring the whole island. Close to sea eagle hide, and with otters in the bay, a willife lovers paradise. Enjoy our hospitality with either our legendary full cooked breakfast, or enjoy our home made yoghurt and croissants for a continental option. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fascadail Bed & Breakfast Salen, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fascadail Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.