We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend family break including dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Glenforsa Hotel Mull to your Saves list
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Salen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend family break including dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Took 2 rooms for our family of 5, Alison, who owns the place with Brendan conveniently organised for them to be together. Rooms perfect for our requirement with good showers in one, bath in the other. Highlight is location, fabulous personal service and great food. Eggs at breakfast a highlight - they even let your kids help collect the eggs (11am is best time apparently!) You can even order your lobster ahead of time and it gets delivered fresh too! Best wine list on island easily, we drank Christian Moreau Chablis Grand Cru 'les Clos' which went great with the scallop dish. The walk along the beach to the river is a must as well - and you can borrow Stella the black lab if you fancy too!
Thanks guys for a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just ask Alison for any special requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    34
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

About 10 miles from the port and 8 miles from Tobermory, this hotel is in a lovely setting, with trees around and right on the bay. Our first floor log-cabin style rooms were roomy with large bathrooms and heated towel racks. Upon checking in our room was brrrrh cold. We cranked the heater up before we headed to Tobermory. Once our room heated up, it was quite comfortable. We spent two nights here, very quiet and restful. No distractions of a tv, radio, or phone. Internet in our rooms. A well stocked bar and good restaurant, where we enjoyed our morning breakfasts. What I liked most about Glenforsa is its isolated setting. It sits about 1.5 miles from the village of Salen. You can find less expensive accommodations on Mull, but this was a nice treat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethe, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Bliss! This was the comment I was heard to utter as we walked into the bar on arrival by plane.

My wife and I have stayed in some of the top hotels in the world but can honestly say we have never enjoyed a hotel stay as much as this.

Service: they make everything they do for you seem like it is a pleasure rather than an obligation. Alison is incredibly knowledgeable about the Island and Brendan even carried our bags to the room - not what you expect for a £90 per night hotel! I also loved the way we could drink in the bar and then get called through to the restaurant when our meal was ready. Everyone is treated as an individual and therefore service and attention to detail is individually tailored to each guest and their needs.

Food: the mussels I had were absolute perfection. I was in Normandy the week before and had mussels there, but these were in another league: incredible freshness that slipped down like oysters. The seafood chowder was wonderful - with locally caught fish and scallops bursting from every corner of the plate. My wife had scallops which were cooked to perfection: seared on the outside and tender on the inside. The venison burger I had at lunch was great: we regularly eat at Gourmet Burger Kitchen and this was up there in quality. Prices are not expensive, they are about right considering that no shortcuts are taken and the food is all locally sourced.

Rooms: I'm not sure what this fixation is with lightness in rooms as we found our room to be perfectly well lit. More importantly it was beautifully warm - and had been warmed up specially for our arrival.

Views: what can I say to do the views justice, except for saying that they rival the vistas you will get anywhere in the world?

A thoroughly charming hotel, which we highly recommend to anyone: so much so, we have already booked to return next month for a week.

Dean, Tasmin and Horace

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glenforsa, and your comments remind us why we do what we do and stop us becoming discouraged by comments from people that haven't actually stayed with us! We look forward to your next visit.

Brendan & Allison (& Stella)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived on March 31st which is a day before the hotel officially opens. The owners kindly agreed to open early as we were so restricted with time off work. We stayed in one of the wooden family cabins which had a king size bed and two bunks. All very warm and comfy.
The weather was typical Scotland, but we had a great time exploring Mull which is a beautiful place. We were welcomed home each eve to good home cooking and an enormous cooked breakfast each morning.
The owners Brendan and Alison were good company and very kind to our two lively children who wanted to "help" with the ducks, chickens and fresh egg collecting.
We will be going back in the summer when work allows.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived on the first of April and really thought this was April fools, the place had opened for the first time of the year, ok not a problem, if they had put some heating on !, checked in and ask what time the restaurant opened for are evening meal and we were told ( oh the chefs not starting until Tuesday ) but i can do you snack ,when we got to the room it was freezing cold with just a small electric fire, no TV, no heating in bathroom, as other recent reviews say
“Faulty Towers at it's best!” we checked out after half an hour sitting in the freezing cold bar, but still had to pay for the room , less £10 Thanks !. Please DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
After opening a couple of days early this season to accomodate these guests it was somewhat disappointing to be told that they would be moving on to their next destination, they had expressed concern that the weather (light snow showers) might prevent them from getting there in their sports car.
We had turned the heating on in their room in advance of their arrival, and prepared a full restaurant and bar menu for them, they were also offered hot drinks on their arrival but preferred a gin & tonic.
It was mentioned in conversation that our chef was not due to arrive for a couple of days, but this was not a problem as both my wife and myself are fully capable of preparing anything on our menu and have been doing so for a number of years now.
We do not serve 'snacks' at Glenforsa and therefore do not offer them to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Few hotels can have such a glorious view from its dining room, lounge and bar as does the Glenforsa. Looking up the Sound of Mull towards Ardnamurchan, the view can be breathtakiing in virtually all weathers. However, in our experience, there is much more to the Glenforsa than the view. Having visited the hotel fairly regularly over the past eight years, we have seen a steady improvement in food, facilities and overall service. Both the restaurant and bar menus offer good variety and make the most of the excellent beef, lamb, venison and seafood that Mull provides. On our most recent visit, the lamb, in particular, was extremely good, as were the local mussels, which were succulent and cooked to perfection. Breakfasts, with the hotel's home-produced eggs, have been good. Bar and restaurant menus have often included fish caught by one of the owners that day.

Glenforsa is of Scandinavian log construction. This gives it a particular character - with walls being of natural wood, some of the rooms and the corridors can be on the dark side. For some this may be a problem - for others, selves included, it is part of the hotel's charm. It is not, perhaps, the smartest boutique hotel in town, surrounded by neatly manicured lawns. Nor does it pretend to be. It has character, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and as we said at the outset, the views are spectacular.

We have always found Glenforsa a welcoming place, and, in our experience, a busy one. The owners are helpful and friendly with a good knowledge of what is going on in the area. Stella, the resident black labrador, is friendly and welcoming, but clearly knows her place - which does not include the bar, dining room or kitchen. We have never seen her even attempting to enter any of these areas.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have visited here before 2 years ago and were very shocked this time. Unlike last time when we visited several time - the bar meals now were very expensive and not good.

The waitress serving us was very pleasant but wearing a filthy top which was a little off putting. The meals were small portions for the price being charged, alot of the food was not cooked properly and the chips were burnt.

The final straw was when my daughter had nearly finsihed her food and found a small black hair on her food/plate - looking very like a dog hair! I told her to leave what was left of her food and then complained to the owner about the hair. I was slightly shocked that the owner said 'yes it was probably belonged to his black lab!'

He did refund the cost of just my daughter's meal - but I must say I was more than slightly shocked to find that he took it so lightly and that he had allowed dog hairs to come out of the kitchen on dinner plates!! This is the height of bad hygenie and exremely unprofessional and not what you expect from a hotel. From my experience of professional kitchens this is totally unacceptable and for this reason alone I would never return again.

I have heard since my visit of others who told me that they had visited and felt it had gone downhill and had got very expensive and the food was now poor.

To find dog hairs on your food is totally unacceptable and something I have never come across before - I felt it was handled very poorly and everyone I told the tale to was equally horrified. We were part of a large party and indeed we ate out serveral nights as a large party but after this experience we all avoided here and also the other dining places that is owned by this owner on the island (one being the Mediteranean in Salen, which would have been very close and convenient to us)

Now I know why when I visited we were the only ones in the bar and I felt sorry for the family who had just arrived as we were leaving!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I will, if I may, respond to this review in detail.
Our prices have increased in the last couple of years, but not at the same rate as the cost of producing our dishes, and of course the increase in vat has had an impact, but we still produce meals from ingredients of a quality and freshness that cannot be duplicated in Edinburgh or London even at double or triple our prices.
Our Labrador Stella is of course, never allowed into any areas where food is produced or served but confines herself to reception where she is a firm favorite with our guests and particulary with the children who spend time petting and playing with her while waiting for their food and while their parents are enjoying a drink in the bar.
Finding a hair in your food is clearly unacceptable no matter how it got there, but if this customer had genuine concerns relating to hygiene in our kitchen, surely as someone with experience in professional kitchens she would realise the proper course of action is to contact the local enviromental health officer, and not wait for several weeks before posting on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glenforsa Hotel Mull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull Salen, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.