We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wind, ocean and lonely hikes on the Isle of Mull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staffa House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staffa House
Save
You added Staffa House to your Saves list
A848/849, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Fionnphort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Engadin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wind, ocean and lonely hikes on the Isle of Mull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent three wonderful days in Fionnphort and could enjoy the silence, the wind and ocean of Mull. Gillian and Ali made your stay just great. They were wonderful hosts and made everything to make us feel comfortable and at home. The rooms were clean, warm and cosy.
It was a perfect location to Explorer Iona and do some hikes in the surrounding area. Thank you Gillian and Ali for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
58
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a 4 night stay at Staffa House and agree with all the previous positive comments. Unfortunately evening meals were not available when we were there but breakfast was delicious and the pub is good for dinner. Very comfortable room and we found the bed the best of several we have slept in on our trip. Gillian is very helpful with local information especially if you need ideas for places to visit in wet weather! For a visit to Iona you couldn't beat this location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We wanted to stay at Staffa House, however there was no availability. Despite having no rooms available, Gillian went one step further and took the time to give us a long list of other options for accommodation nearby. She didn't need to do this, but the fact that she did meant a lot to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

stayed for only one night on august 28th. Arrived at 6pm after navigating the Mull roads. Met at the door by Gillian who carried our heavy bag up to our room. She was so welcoming, just a really nice lady. We went into our room which just showed the attention to detail that her and Ali put into everything about Staffa house. Very comfortable bed, nice hot shower with plenty of pressure, lovely view across to Iona. Filled out the breaky sheet then went down to Keel Row pub for dinner. Breakfast in the morning was beautiful in a big sunroom. Homemade stewed fruits and nice hot options(salmon, eggs, bacon ,sausage, mushrooms ,etc). Just a pleasure to stay somewhere so welcoming.

Room Tip: stayed in lunga room and had a nice view across to Iona
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Staffa House over our anniversary weekend recently. Gillian and Ali made our stay relaxed and welcoming. Outstanding breakfasts, plenty of space in the house and nice to meet other guests over breakfasts. Gillian was a veritable fountain of local knowledge and that helped to give us ideas of things to do and see whilst in the area.
We stayed in the Lunga room at the front of the house upstairs with lovely views out over the sound, a pleasant room, the bed was a little hard for us - but that's a personal thing really, shower room was fine for us, good powerful shower but the cubicle might be a squeeze if you're of a larger frame. Gillian took towels away each day for drying which was a nice touch and if you had any wet outdoor clothing to dry that was accommodated for too. Nothing was too much trouble for them and that's always appreciated! Would definitely stay there again - good value for the service provided. Thanks to Gillian and Ali :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this delightful establishment and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Gillian greeted us warmly on our arrival and made us feel instantly at home in her quiet, calm manner. Everything about staffa house was perfect, not least the wonderful breakfasts cooked by Ali! A real gem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Staffa House was our first stop after a transatlantic flight, drive to Oban, and bus trip across Mull. Gillian's welcome could not have been warmer. She provided wonderful information regarding Iona - and even invited us to the local ceilidh. The family room with large ensuite bathroom was perfect (lovely and clean) and includes a window seat allowing wonderful views over to Iona. The breakfasts were delicious (don't miss Ali's porridge!). Staffa House is warm and peaceful; Gillian & Ali seem to have brought a bit of Iona across to Mull with them.

Room Tip: We only saw the family room - but it provides wonderful views over to Iona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staffa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffa House

Address: A848/849, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fionnphort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Staffa House Fionnphort, Scotland - Isle Of Mull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staffa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.