We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop/cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Byre Heritage Centre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Old Byre Heritage Centre
Toilisk turn-off, Dervaig, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Attractions in Dervaig
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shop/cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Is the Old Byre a shop inside a cafe, or a cafe inside a shop? It's full of cool quirky things all over, that is for sure!

I brought my mum and sister to the cafe a few days ago. It was lovely to meet the chatty ladies who run the place and the food was really nice too.

Thank you from the fussy 'deconstructed baguette' vegetarian!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Homemade soup tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for quick meal and settled for the homemade soup and toastie's which came quick enough but the soup we both felt was overpowered by a strong possible celery taste, although plenty ingredients.

The toasties and salad were however very nice.

The shop was well stocked with tourist items some interesting books on Mull and prints etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clooty dumpling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We haven't been to Mull until we have had the local speciality according to my husband! Lovely gift shop, coffee shop that does homemade cakes and soups and light lunches. If I mention "jigsaw" the owner will be able to identify me! Great for a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat but stuck in the 80's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here for years and very little has changed. A really nice place to eat the menu is ideal for lunch but other than that its a bit dated. There is a selection of "Scottish memorabilia" it it feels a little tacky. There is a good play area outside for younger children which is nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice little cafe selling teas and snacks etc. - food was good and reasonably priced. Mixed up throughout the cafe and in the rest of the building were various items of touristy gifts / brick-a-brack which were a little out of keeping with the beautiful surroundings but that's perhaps just my taste.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Byre Heritage Centre also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to The Old Byre Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Byre Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.