We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlene's Coffee Shop

Arlene's Coffee Shop
Craignure, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Craignure
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My fiance and I have been in Arlene's to take out cake twice now. The carrot cake and parnsip cake are our favorites. Really, really tasty.

It would be nice if Arlene's would get take-away containers for their cake. But then again, it gets mashed up in your mouth anyways. Or maybe we should just stop being stubborn and sit in when eating cake. :D

Anyways: great place, I recommend it to everyone who goes to get a ferry!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe with the best views on Mull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a day trip to Mull and arriving about lunch time I remembered this café from last year.
The quality hadn't changed and the hot smoked salmon and salad lunch was a delight.
Later in the day we called for afternoon tea and sampled the strawberry cake which really is to die for!
Well done ladies, you haven't seen the last of us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location overlooking the bay at Craignure. Food choice was okay but some bizarre combinations- parsnip in cake and haggis and venison in a roll I'm afraid didn't satisfy my simple taste buds. The drinks were nice however and it was lovely sitting outside before the ferry arrived.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I find your comments disappointing. Our best selling cake is parsnip, lemon and hazelnut, which we have been nominated for a baking award for.But we do have have plenty more cake to choose from, we have 21 different varieties to choose from.We do not sell a vension burger with haggis but perhaps we should? We sell vension burgers and various other breakfast rolls. We have a large selection of rolls, sandwiches, toasties and paninis which suits the simple taste buds, but sorry we don't sell chips.We have additional daily specials. Yes our view is brillant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small cafe supplying good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A nice place to pass the time waiting for the ferry back to Oban.
Lots of home baking served with a smile

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Staff were friendly enough although strangely seemed put out by me plugging my phone in to charge despite asking if this was ok.
Good place though, with good food and coffee, great to fuel up before catching the ferry. They do takeaway stuff as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlene's Coffee Shop also viewed

Salen, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Killiechronan, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Arlene's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlene's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.