We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
renfrew scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend break!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 2 day break at the Hotel purchased from 5pm deal. It was great value and well worth the money.
The Hotel decor was tired and is in need of a revamp.
Food in Restaurant was great and nicely presented. Waiting staff in Restaurant worked really hard and aimed to please everyone.
We used the Spa which consisted of sauna, steam room, hot tub and treatments if you so wished.
Swimming Pool was good but could have been a bit warmer!!
All in all we were really satisfied with our stay and would definitely recommend the Hotel & Spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 32 and the only drawback is it is immediately below the Restaurant. Early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
hello and many thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed the value of our 5pm offer. We do hope you will watch out for more offers and return soon. Thanks again, best wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    268
    181
    118
    84
See reviews for
138
431
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 night throw work . Hotel setting good
Dinning room staff where very good but reception staff poor everything seemed to to much trouble off them wifi very slow if you even get onto it
I stayed in single room small but toilet and shower was poor needs replaced . Food was good

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. I am surprised by your comments about reception staff, as this is not the norm, and I have raised your review with them. Regretfully wi fi is not am amazing signal, the whole island has an issue with broadband, and the weather also can have an affect on what we have, usually it is possible though to get on and I can only apologise if you had difficulties. Thanks for your review and we hope you will visit again soon. regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visit Mull on a regular basis as we have family on the island. We always stay at the Isle of Mull when visiting and was most impressed with the improvements during our visit in September. The catering had hugely improved with excellent choices each evening for dinner, the service was efficient and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean and had a very good hospitality tray which was replenished twice a day. The Spa, without a doubt has been a really attractive plus point.

If I have anything negative to say its thai the hotel is looking a little tired and could do with a bit of a refurbishment. Will we stay there again, yes we will.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
hello and thanks so much for your lovely review following your stay with us. Your comments have been passed to the team, and I hope your comments will help others. Many thanks and hope to see you again soon. best regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel shows signs of ageing, the service however was excellent. The Restaurant and it's service was second to none. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the team.
The room was clean but small with little space for cases. Window frames show lack of cleaning
internally.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello and thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team and I am so pleased that your enjoyed your stay. Hope you can visit again soon. Best regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my friend who was visiting family on the Island. Hotel is in a magnificent location and our room had wonderful view of the Sound of Mull and the ferry as she sailed in and out of Caignure. Our room was spacious with very comfortable beds. We did not use the spa or require wifi so can not comment . Evening meal and breakfast were delicious, with a varied choice and served by a friendly and helpful staff. The only observation I would make is that the water pressure in shower and bath could be higher. This does not detract from what was a very enjoyable stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write and post your review I am so pleased you enjoyed it and hope others will read your review and book a visit with us. Thanks again and hope you will visit again soon. Best Wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a very nice weekend away in Mull through a voucher deal. Wasn't expecting much but thought it would be nice to get away for a weekend. The hotel itself is quite old fashioned and the bedroom we had was quite old looking, but roomy and the bed was very comfy. The spa area is very new and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, obviously the hotel is a 3star hotel so don't expect a luxurious hotel with spa as such, but I would go back here and stay again. The views from our room and the lounge/dining area over looks the sea and we came back relaxed which was the main objective! No need to take a car, 10min walk or 1min cycle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
hello and thanks for your review and your lovely comments. So pleased you enjoyed your weekend break with us, and I hope that you will return in the future for another relaxing break. Best Wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in Room 10. To start with we couldn't open the bathroom door,we then had to return to Reception to find out how to lock the main door, onlyto be told incorrectly by the Duty Manager. Then found the cold tap did not work, complained to the Manager who got the man to fix it but no word of regret or follow up. During the night the bathroom extractor fan switch on and couldn't be switch off until it stopped near the morning and wouldn't then work.
other points the window would neither lock or stay open and one bed-side lamp was not working. When I told the same Duty manager next morning he told me he had deducted £20 off the bill but still no apology or apparent regret. Needless to say won't be staying or recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Drive a further 5 minutes to the next hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. The door locks are a little tricky and we do give instructions on arrival in writing as to how to work them in case this is needed, I am pleased that we acted quickly to assist you, and also with your tap, which I personally arranged to be dealt with immediately you raised it. If you did not feel there was an apology, then I can only apologise now. The offer of a discount was made as a gesture on our part which you did accept at the time, and I can only now once again apologise for any issues you had, and I am sorry that you feel you could not stay with us again. Regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. Our new leisure center opened on the 1st March 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.