We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean inside, the pool was nice, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious! Unfortunately the foot spa was broken so couldn't be used. They are very dog friendly. Nice rooms, lovely view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback and I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies about the foot spa during your stay, this was a matter out of our control and every effort was made to repair as quickly as possible. We do hope that you will make a return visit soon, Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    285
    188
    122
    85
See reviews for
140
458
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned from a fanastic 4day break at the Isle of Mull hotel & Spa. I had worried after booking due to very good price (almost to good to be true) and few comments on here! Hence i feel the need to leave a review. The hotel is dated from the outside and has a strange labyrinth type layout but is to a clean and tidy standard inside. There is a lovely lounge area over looking the bay and a quiet lounge downstairs (bar open i assume during busy times) which has a door close by that enables access to patio and lovely garden area ....with lots of places inluiding frog pond for children to explore (my 2yr old loved it!) View of all public rooms inc dinning over look the bay, castle and to my childrens delight the ferry coming and going :o) the staff were amazing with our children (1yr & 2yr) arriving to their own napkins made as boats etc was just thrilling for them :o) The childrens meals were all fresh made versions of classic kids meals and were to a fantastic standard as was the adult meals ....with a change of menu each night ....i found myself getting excited to see what amazing choices we would have each evening. In a previous life (before babies ;o) i have been fortunate enough to stay in amazing places such as the Balmoral in Edinburgh, Chateau Lake louise and always judge a place by location, cleanliness and service via cost. I feel that this hotel, fantastic staff, fab food and beautiful spa offer more than enough via the cost of staying....we are already planning a return visit (hopefully with parents in tow ...so we can better enjoy full use of amazing spa facilities ;o)

Room Tip: we were in room 107....it was very last room in the building on bottom floor...was a looong walk - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review following your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel room was clean and very comfortable, it was close to the ferry and was able to see a lot of the island during our stay. People on the island and staff in the hotel were very friendly and have been singing its praise since we returned home. The food in the hotel was great and very reasonably priced, cannot wait to return. Children and animals are allowed in the hotel, dogs all behaved wish the children had, our room door was knocked on before the children ran away and our door handle was tried at least once a day during our 3 night stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for writing this review following your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the lovely comments about the staff and the food and the Island. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habrough, Immingham United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in room 4. The room was pleasant, nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. It had an excellent view of the bay and was warm. The en-suite was modern, clean and had everything required.
We found the lounge areas clean, comfortably and very warm. The restaurant was large with excellent views of the bay, all staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was buffet style but everything we had was hot but the eggs were hard one morning when they had been under the heat lamps for a while. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and croissants.
We ate in the bar one night and in the restaurant one night, both were very good. A good choice and the food was high quality. There was a lack of choice of beers which was a bit disappointing, but overall this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for posting your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, my apologies that your eggs were hard on one morning. I do hope you will return to stay with us in the near future and if so I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We traveled up on Friday night by car (a wonderful journey) and caught the last ferry in Oban arriving after 11.00 pm.
The Hotel is really convenient, less than five minutes drive from the ferry terminal. After reading previous views we were pleasantly surprised to find an efficient booking in service and a lovely warm room awaiting us.
My wife had a knee injury and we found the sprawling layout a wee bit strange although it was not too taxing and we actually came to enjoy meandering through the corridors. The building seems to follow the contours of the shore and the benefit of this is that all rooms have a magnificent view over Craignure bay back to Loch Linnhe and Connell Ferry so it's worth the short walk.
Our room could only be described as "traditional hotel", those looking for pzazz or boutique styling should beware, but it was really cozy and comfortable throughout.
The linen was clean and crisp and maid service couldn't be faulted.
I noticed the lighting throughout is particularly good and has been recently upgraded.
There was no trace of the expected "musty smell" after reading other comments posted here but to be fair with the number of rooms spread over an extensive area, it might have been a localised problem. .
The Hotel facilities, on a value for money basis, are better than normal in the highlands and islands with high quality food served in an excellent restaurant; two convenient bars; lounge areas over two floors looking out across the bay; a spa; swimming pool; and external hot tub (brilliant).
The pool is quite large, guest changing facilities are excellent in this respect. leisure staff, based in the adjacent spa are really helpful and very nice.
The breakfast quality is up there with the best I've been offered at home or abroad, with the Stornoway Back Pudding really something special for officianados. The staff are also efficient and pleasant with a clear eagerness to please.
We visited just after a particularly harsh winter so I won't dwell on the gardens because I know they are to be the subject of upgrading in the near future (overheard the General Managers discussing this with some gusto on Sunday morning).
The car parking is sufficient but again people shouldn't complain about the distance to walk because we come here for the fresh air and outdoor benefits. Cars can be quite tightly parked near the entrance but if you take an extra few steps there's not a problem.
All in all it was a very good trip and I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending this hotel to others.
The Crerar team are sensibly trying to improve on a gradual basis and the work they've done with staff and some facilities is already evident.
I now plan to try other Crerar hotels in the expectation I will be similarly pleased.
.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and you could balance the peace and quiet of distant rooms against the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments on to the team. Here at Crerar Hotels we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and it is appreciated when this is recognised. I do hope you will return to us in the near future and I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from a 2night spa break at this hotel. Really couldn't have asked for more. Amazing spa treatments, excellent food & service. Yes the hotel rooms are a little dated and the bathrooms could really use upgrading but they are comfortable and the hotel staff, service & food more than makes up. We made full use of the spa facilities; the facilities and the staff really were some of the best ive experienced. Our deal included Dinner, B&B plus packed lunch and ferry including the car. Amazing value. The dining room is lovely with great views across the bay; service at dinner was fantastic and the quality was outstanding. Thoroughly recommend the steak. If you want a total break from it all this is the place. Will definitely be returning for some more R&R later in the year.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which over looks the bay. Superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for posting a review. I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your recent Spa break with us. I have passed all your comments on to the team and we all hope to welcome you back to the Hotel & Spa in the near future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On driving up to the hotel I was very dissapointed. It was a cold wet day and the hotel did not look very welcoming The main reception was cool and draughty. After checking in I was looking forward to getting to our room and getting cosy. The room was absolutely freezing, there was a panel heater that looked like it has not been working for a long time, however there was also a freestanding convector heater. Once this was switched on the room soon warmed up, however the window was running with water in the mornings. I was also not impressed with the cleanliness, There was a copy of the previous days newspaper (obviously read) still in the room and the tartan bed runner was covered in dog hairs. The double bed was very uncomfortable and noisy and you could feel the springs poking through the matress. The next morning when we went for breakfast and away from the room for about 25 minutes and room service had been in and barely made up the beds. On the brighter side the staff in reception and the restaurant were very nice (most of them were foreign) and the food was excellent. The best part of the hotel for me was the Spa, it was great. The hotel has a great setting but needs a lot of refurbishment to bring it back to a good standard. I can see this hotel will be more appealing in the summer. If they make small changes in the meantime it would make all the difference, ie leave a heater on in the rooms guests are checking in to and improve their cleaning process.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for posting your review. I can see in the main you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations but there were a few minor observations. I apologise that a newspaper was left in your room, I must however confirm that the tartan runner is made from a ‘hairy’ wool and this is what you saw not dog hair, as when we do have dogs we remove these from the rooms. I do hope I can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.