We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, lovely break, but hotel needs some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, lovely break, but hotel needs some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a last minute weekend break to the Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. Yes it needs some TLC, brightening up, and more attention to detail, but what we found was a comfortable, exceptionally clean hotel, friendly helpfull staff and really good food. Excellent set menu in the evenings had us looking forward to our meals, piping hot well cooked breakfast was excellent, including black pudding , haggis and tattie scones.
Our deal was Dinner B&B and whilst we were there in February and were given an excellent deal, I would not have liked to pay full price for this hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and warm, all looking on to the sea. But stained silicone around the bath, smelly shower curtain, tired bathroom flooring, dreadful coffee in rooms are only little things which could be made better with little effort. The bed was a double, but a neat, smallish double. The pool /sauna/steam room were nice and relatively inviting. Would I return? Maybe......

Room Tip: all rooms face on to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest- Firstly I would like to thank you for not only writing a review but also for your kind words regarding my team here at the Hotel & Spa. I have taken on board the comments you have made with regard to the bathroom and coffee and have taken the appropriate action necessary to rectify these small things. As a whole it appears that you did enjoy your stay with us and as such I would urge you to return to us to see that we are constantly improving our service and standards to meet our guest expectations. I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    284
    187
    122
    85
See reviews for
139
456
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As you arrive on the island the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa is only a minutes drive from the ferry port. It looks ok on arrival but when you enter the Hotel things start to go downhill. You might be lucky to find someone on reception and when you do they regard you as a number, not a customer. The Hotel just expects bookings because of its location and it does not work hard to encourage return custom. It needs alot of updating to its rooms as the beds are some of the most uncomfortable I have experienced on my travels. As for value for money, the less said about this the better.
I hope they take note of some negative reviews they receive because it is daylight robbery for the cost of the rooms in the months of June and July. I paid £92 per night for a dingy single room in June and although they charged me £32 per night in December I feel as though the cost should be £32 in June for the standard of room. Be aware!

Room Tip: Dont go for any rooms close to the Spa. The noise was unbearable at times from a leaky gutter outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest – May I thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry as it is clear that we failed to meet your expectations on the first occasion and also as a returning guest on this occasion. I am the new General Manager here at the Hotel & Spa and only wished that you had spoken to me prior to departure to allow me the opportunity to rectify the issues you had. The Hotel, and the Company, take pride in and works hard at keeping our guests happy and returning to us. It is unfortunate but the Isle of Mull is mostly seasonal as a place and as such we reduce size in the out season, however we strive to upkeep the level of customer service and I am sorry that you feel we failed in this. The prices for stays does alter dependant on time of year but also the package do, the £92 paid in June included dinner and breakfast in season, whereas the December stay was for the room only out of season. I do also thank you for the letting us know about the bed in the room you stayed in as we are reliant on guest feedback for this. I do hope you will return for a third time to give us a chance to show how we are constantly striving to improve our product and customer service and should you do so I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craignure, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just had sunday lunch at the Isle of Mull Hotel. Which is under new management, what can I say, a choice of two or three delicious courses, a great experience from start to finish. Excellent food, excellent service and a fantastic view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for your kind comments regarding our Sunday Luncheon here at the Hotel & Spa. We are always looking for ways to improve all areas of our business to all of our different guests and we are always pleased when a service we give meets or exceeds our guest expectation. I do trust you will return, not only for Sunday Luncheon but perhaps for our Steak Nights every Thursday and other services we offer here at the Hotel & Spa. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craignure, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just been to the Isle of Mull Hotel for Sunday lunch. Roast beef with all the trimmings and Sticky Toffee Pudding. Beef melted in the mouth, fantastic yorkies and great veg and gravy. Yummy pudding too. Will be visiting again in the very near future. Under new management and much improved. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for the kind comments, it seems we are on a winner with the Sticky Toffee Pudding, I shall try and talk the Chef into keeping it on the menu. On a serious note I am glad you enjoyed your luncheon and I do trust you will return to sample other services we offer to our guest, why not try our great Steak Nights on a Thursday or our Dip & Dine special. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stay was OK. Nice staff, reasonable food. Room was freezing, window wouldn't shut properly. Hotel in general wasn't very warm. Spa and pool closed on Monday & Tuesday (be nice to have known this before hand). Great views to the sea, room and bed in need of refurb. Poor shower & hot water took a while to come through. No BBC on TV? (Fish & chips £13 Pint of Guinness £4.20). More of a Motel than an Hotel but has potential given that it has decent staff & management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, also many thanks for the kind comments regarding myself and my team. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, the Isle of Mull is a seasonal place and as such we reduce size and facility in the winter time, we do make every effort to inform guests, not only on our website but also on other partner websites of any closed or reduction in facilities at the Hotel & Spa and I am sorry if you did not receive this information. I am sorry that your accommodation was cold and I have actioned your point regarding the window in the room you stayed in and this has been rectified, along with retuning the television. For any future stay can I let you know that we have a Duty Manager available at all times to assist our guests and where possible solve any issues quickly. We shall continue to strive to improve our product and service we give to our guests and trust you will return to see this for yourself, I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again last week and although it was quiet, I received a warm welcome. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, I was told there is new Managers (one of which I met). The food was great and I went for a swim, the pool was perfect and I sat in the hot tub enjoying what can only be described as an AMAZING views. I will definetly be staying here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest – Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. Yes we are the new managers and we shall continue to grow the Hotel & Spa whilst trying to improve on other aspects of the Hotel. I do trust you will return and I look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

reception staff very helpful as are the rest of the staff who keep the place nice clean and tide hotel food not bad but not cheap as others have said thin walls can hear people next door moving swimming nice for a quiet swim in the morning before breakfast then out for a walk of which there many enjoy the views

Room Tip: north facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their review about our hotel, and I am sorry to hear that you found the walls to be thin.

I am glad you enjoyed our swimming pool and also I have passed your kind comments on to our reception team.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.