There's really nothing good to say about this hotel and much that is bad. We stayed for 6 nights and for the whole time there were items that were unavailable from the (very limited) bar menu. There was no evidence of any local produce on offer. On our second evening, we accidentally locked ourselves out of our en-suite bathroom at 11pm. We phoned reception, to be told that nothing could be done before 8am. We said that this was unacceptable as the nearest communal toilet was 2 floors and 100 yards away. The receptionist rebuked us for our attitude and only then offered to help by finding an adjacent, unlocked room, whose bathroom we could use. She then slammed the phone down! On another day, we returned to our room at midday to find the towels had been replenished on the towel rail. On further inspection, we realised the towels were damp and it turned out it was all our dirty towels which had been picked up off the floor! We phoned reception and a VERY sheepish girl came with clean towels. Incidentally, this was the only day the towel rail had not been turned off by the cleaner. Then there are all the minor niggles; mealtimes altered to suit bus parties without notifying us, toilet paper never replaced (we ran out), no hot water for much of the day and night, etc, etc, etc.
Go for the 3rd floor close to reception. The hotel is extremely long, on 3 floors, with no lifts
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.
I was disappointed to read your review and learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us; I was also very disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay, when we could have rectified the issues raised, we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.
Our chef prepares all of our menus using locally sourced meat and seafood, as you can appreciate we do our best to cater for everyone, but when you serve over 2000 meals per week we can on occasions run out of the most popular dishes.
I have personally spoken with the receptionist who was on shift, she has asked me to pass on her sincerest apologies, she certainly did not intend on coming over as rude or unhelpful, As you will appreciate it is difficult to get a call out on the island at that time of evening, I am however pleased she was able to offer you an alternative bedroom to move too or for use of the bathroom.
I was also shocked and embarrassed to read about your towels and toilet paper, this is a basic and something that should never have happened, I have discussed your comments at length here with the team and we have taken corrective actions to ensure this does not happen again. I am also sorry your towel rail was switched off; we actively do this to try and be a little greener.
Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and express my deepest regret and apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.