We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, stunning view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holm View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holm View Guest House to your Saves list
Holm View Guest House
18, Rathad a Bhraighe | Rathad Am Braighe, Stornoway HS2 0BQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
S. Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The proprietor was very welcoming and helpful. We took a single and twin room, both were spotlessly clean, modern with lovely comfortable beds. Very pleased to find a corner bath in the twin en-suite rather that shower cubicle. We were offered continental breakfast at the guest house, or a cooked breakfast at a cafe which the proprietor owns a little further up the road. We went for the cooked breakfast, which was excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Twin room at the front has a stunning view, and a bath in the en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very pleasant stay at the Holm View Guest House. Really nice rooms, excellent power shower. Breakfast - option of continental in the guest house or go along to their tea room and have full english. Excellent! They could not do enough for you. There was 4 of us and they checked out the entertainment for night then ran us along and dropped us off. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

When looking for suitable accomodations I was intrigued to see that I could stay in the bungalow for just £5 more than a double room.

Staying in the bungalow means that as well as a comfortable double room with ensuite bathroom, you also get a combined kitchen/living room area, a conservatory with a sofa and dining table and an additional shower room and a single room off the double room.

I landed in strong winds which was a bit bumpy but still decided to walk to Holm View from the airport, it was only a mile but the wind and rain made it quite difficult, so if the weather is bad or it's dark i'd recommend getting in a taxi.

The noise from the airport is minimal as only propellered aircraft take off from there. The wind noise on my first night was very bad however as there were gusts of around 50mph, so it kept waking me up!

On the second night it was almost still so was lovelly and peaceful apart from the noise from the road, there's quite a few cars going up and down considering the population on the outcrop that the road leads too.

The owner was very friendly and had the place lovelly and warm for my arrival. The bungalow has a widescreen TV and Sky (just the free to view channels) but that's a good enough selection.

The kitchen is well equipped enough and the continental breakfast selection was more than adequate, there is only a microwave and fridge though so doesn't offer full self catering facilities.

The only downside was the lack of wireless broadband which was a real issue as there is no Vodafone mobile signal anywhere indoors apart from the conservatory or by holding your phone right against the window, this was due to the BT line being down though so not the owners fault.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

fantastic location and stunning views.
myself and my huband stayed here for 3 nights and wow what a wonderfull room!we had a huge en suite double bedroom,beautifully furnished rooms!the owner has really thought about his guests when choosing the layouts of the rooms!large wooden bed,huge sofa and flat screen tv.
there is a lovely beach to the back of the house for walking on too!breakfast was of a good standard and the host is really great!this place has as we found out the most fantastic cottage to stay in at the back of the property which has 3 bedrooms and a conservotory with tables and chairs outside with sea views so we would def come back here with friends to stay!a
also we would recomend a drive to harris on your stay and go to luskyntyre beach we have been to exotic beaches in oz and had never seen anything like this!
have a look at our pics and think about staying at holm view!
fantastic stay !!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We booked a double room well in advance as we were going to the Hebcelt Festival. We were very impressed on arrival as the host was very welcoming and our room was huge! It also had a view overlooking the bay and a large en-suite. We were further impressed when instead of calling a taxi to take us into town he took us personally and gave a brief tour so we could familiarise ourselves.
The breakfasts were brilliant and the black pudding is well recommended.
The only downsides to our visit was a lack of breakfast menu. Anything can be had but it is easier if there is a choice instead of having to ask. Also, the smoke alam batteries were dying and therefore giving a beeping warning - very distracting.
If it were not for those 2 very easily fixed complaints I would have given 5 stars and excellent.
Chances are that the batteries will have been replaced so I would recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — Hosts service
  • Disliked — No breakfast menu
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

A fantastic location,only a few miles from Stornoway overlooking the sea and south towards Skye.Mr.Martin could not have been more helpful,we had an en-suite room with sky T.V.(not that we watched,much) This house lies on a narrow strip of land with a rocky beach in front and a sandy beach behind,great for walking.
`we`ll be back`.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holm View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holm View Guest House

Address: 18, Rathad a Bhraighe | Rathad Am Braighe, Stornoway HS2 0BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished house with uninterrupted views, close to centre of town, near airport and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holm View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holm View Guest House Stornoway, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holm View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.