We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant - would'nt have guessed it from the outside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabarfeidh Hotel to your Saves list
Cabarfeidh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perceval Road South, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - would'nt have guessed it from the outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My B&B send me over to this nearby hotel to get something to eat and I was first sceptic when looking at the facade . What I did expect was greasy fish & chips. What I did get was fresh mussels in white wine as a starter and monkfish with scallops as main course. Not to mention the very professional service. All at a good price given the quality of this food. WOW!! I was really positively surprised.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
12
45
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Some parts of the hotel feel a bit faded - the exterior is dated and the carpets are a bit bare on the stairs, but the Cabarfeidh is a great hotel. Charming staff and some of the best food on the island can be found in the hotel restaurant. Some of the things they do with black pudding!
I've not stayed anywhere else in Stornoway. The Cabarfeidh ticked all my boxes from the start and I'll be back there soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed four nights as part of a Brightwater Holiday coach tour (Ancient Stones of the Hebrides).

Arrived late from the ferry and were immediately impressed by the cheerful welcome from the staff who served us a three course dinner with coffee so late.

Rooms are modern style, large enough with a good bathroom. I noticed that someone had taken care over the decoration with the carpet, chair upholstery, curtains and bed covering all coordinated with a theme of cream and blue squares.

Breakfast was a buffet of cold items with hot dishes to order, though when there was another large coach group the entire breakfast was served buffet style.

As a coach group we had to chose our dinners each morning from choice of three each starter, main and dessert. The food was tasty and cooked well and were substantial portions. I can’t comment on the a la carte meals served to individual guests, but from what I saw of them, they looked good. The wine prices seemed reasonable and the service was excellent.

The hotel had ample parking, there is an entrance to the castle grounds across from the entrance and it’s an short easy stroll down the path to the harbourside and ferry terminal.

I’d be happy to stay at this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
731 helpful votes 731 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A common them is the exterior look of this hotel. Forget about it !

Beauty lies within ;

Whomever is responsible for staff acquisition needs a pat on the back. In the various times I've stayed here, never once have I had the experience of a surly attitude. All the staff are very amenable and friendly. Pointedly, they seem to have a great eye for putting a smile back on the face of a weary yomper or worker alike. Very endearing and a testament to the nature of Hebridean people in general.

The rooms are up to a good standard. Bathrooms are always my bugbear but I can't find fault at all.

Finally, the Solas restaurant. Wonderfully prepared plates. Well played to chef(s) !

They cook the sirloins on a griddle and I'm convinced the same griddles are used to cook the breakfast bacon in the morning ? Are you with me on the flavour hint here ?

Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Makes work easy to forget at the end of the day and that has to be a major plus.

Room Tip: The opposite side of the hotel to the road outside and draw the curtains as this is midnight sun ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Cabarfeidh Hotel is just outside the centre of Stornoway, the rooms are modern and spacious, the meal we got in the Restaurant was 1st class and reasonably priced also the breakfast menu was excellent form a Scottish Breakfast to Kippers. The staff were very polite and profesional, if I was to visit Lewis again I would definetly stay here again. 4****

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very efficient staff, very polite and go out of their way to be helpful.
Food very good. Lovely foyer and bar.
Rooms vary but not much to see no matter which room you have.
Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Cabarfeidh was a nice surprise, and much better than I expected to find in Stornoway. Others have commented on the uncharismatic, square block appearnce of the hotel, but inside, the hotel is quite pleasant. Carpets in some of the common areas are a little threadbare, but the dining room, and bedrooms are well furnished and in good order.

The bedrooms are spacious and well equipped, with free wifi, large flat screen TV and tea/coffe facilities.

The hotel guest list is dominated by coach parties April to October, and the staff do seem to struggle to keep “private” guests away from the coach parties. The difference in standards is noticeable. Individual guests are treated to A La Carte dinner and breakfast cooked to order, coach tour guests have a limited dinner selection and breakfast buffet. Coach tour parties are crammed into the interior of the dining room, the rest of us were in the more spacious conservatory.

Dinner, once again, was much better than expected, I would even say to a very high standard. It was however disappointing to find that the menu lacked significant local content. (Usually menus in this part of the world are full of local seafood and game). Nevertheless, my sliced duck breast on sweet potato mash, certainly not a local dish, went down extremely well. My kipper at breakfast however could have been a bit less crispy, being cooked to the point where I could have snapped it in half!

The staff in this place are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help, while at the same time conveying the relaxed atmosphere you would expect in the Western Isles.

The Cabarfeidh would be hard to beat in Stornoway.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, to avoid overlooking the dumping ground behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Address: Perceval Road South, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabarfeidh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.