We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't call it an "attraction" but good for a walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stornoway Harbour

Stornoway Harbour
Cromwell Street | Amity House, Esplanade Quay HS1 2XS, Stornoway, Scotland
+44 1851 702688
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Stornoway Harbour like an insider
Top Rated
$532*
and up
3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of...
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wouldn't call it an "attraction" but good for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

If you ever visit Stornoway, do have a walk along the harbour. i wouldn't call it an "attraction" but i did enjoy my walk after dinner one evening, accompanied by the beautiful sunset too. peaceful, quiet, very content feelings.

I visited Isle of Lewis 4 years ago, and it's absolutely one of the best holidays i've ever had in my life. Planning to go back this summer again

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Go around the corner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The harbor is not much at all. Not very pretty and not much action. The marina off to the side pay Lews Castle is better to look at, although it isn't much either really.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Boats Big & Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Two parts to the Harbour Inner (Private yachts, Cruisers & The fishing fleet) Which also houses the LIfeboat & The Outer harbour where the Night freight ferry leaves & some of the Larger fishing boats & the Cement & Road salt boats berth. The fishermans coop (Chandlers & Wet fish shop) is there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stornoway Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I did take a stroll from the Cabarfeidh Hotel to look at the Harbour. Obviously in February it looked a little dull but I can imagine on a summers day it would look lovely with the seagulls in the background highlighting the atmosphere of being close to the sea.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Seals right below the quays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

In most harbours around Scotland, you have to pay handsomely to be taken in a boat to see seals close-up. Here, you just stand on the quayside and look down at the water to see the creatures cavort around the fishing boats. At time of review, the inner harbour is undergoing major alterations to accommodate more pleasure craft. It is a lovely place to go for a quiet amble, within yards of the busy town centre.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stornoway Harbour also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Stornoway Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stornoway Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.