We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Ocean

Golden Ocean
16 Cromwell Street, Stornoway HS1 2DA, Scotland
01851 704422
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 28 Restaurants in Stornoway
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food,not enough,very simple restaurant.Portions too small,waitress was a pia.......

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millport18
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not Good Looking but Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This restaurant looks bad from the outside. Inside is not much better. Bare tables - no table cloths, and not very warm. However, the food was served very quickly, and it was extremely nice. A strange mix therefore of a poor looking venue with excellent food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Worst place in town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

went for a meal here last week
Freezing cold, not clean
Only one other person dining.
I didnt fancy ANYTHING, I ordered a starter to keep frind comapny.Out of the 4 prawns..2 were off.

And the red wine was cold..out of a box..cheap and nasty

One vist was one too many

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fairly basic, not a haven for vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I'd agree with some other reviewers that the place looks fairly basic, both inside and out, but that the staff are friendly and the service good.

The menu is extensive (possibly too extensive), but as vegetarians my partner and I didn't get the chance to sample the vast majority of it.

Not being particularly veggie-friendly isn't exactly unusual in Stornoway, so it wouldn't be fair to single the Golden Ocean out on that front, but there's certainly room for improvement.

The range of vegetarian options is very limited compared to the vast number of other dishes, which is a shame since I'm sure lots of the dishes could be done with tofu, soya, or simply vegetables replacing the meat (unfortunately none of the Chinese restaurants in Stornoway seem to have discovered tofu, despite it being available in the local Tescos!).

The one starter that we could have (vegetarian spring rolls), was nice - crispy and not too oily.

Of the main dishes, the vegetable Satay was perfectly edible, but bore no resemblance to satay. Fair enough, perhaps, since it's an Indonesian dish, but then why is it on the menu?. The vegetable curry with cashews did what it said on the tin, and was quite nice. The vegetables were basically the same in both dishes - this seems pretty common here, and is a real shame since it's perfectly easy to get fresh veg, and some restaurants (notably the indian menu at the county) are perfectly capable of making two vegetarian dishes at once with *different* vegetables in each.

The plain rice was... plain. The egg fried rice was... basic.

To inject a bit of balance, I have to say that our meat eating friends seemed to enjoy their dishes, so I'm sure that the vast majority of customers would too.

However, hopefully this review (and my perspective) is useful to any vegetarians reading this. This place is an adequate option for a veggie, but add a couple more starters, some tofu, maybe some vegetarian singapore noodles, and some more imaginative main dishes, and it could be so much more.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“it is the best chinese restaurant in the uk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

the meal was quick , and the service is excellent, and most importantly, the food was so delicious.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ocean also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Golden Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.