We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gearrannan keeps calling me back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carloway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village
Save
You added Gearrannan Blackhouse Village to your Saves list
Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Roxbury, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gearrannan keeps calling me back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I love the Isle of Lewis, and I cannot think of a better place to stay. My two previous trips to Lewis I stayed Gearrannan, once in the hostel (before the renovations- 2009) and once in one of the larger blackhouses. Both expierences were wonderful even before the renovations to the hostel. I have just booked 3 nights in July this year, making this the third time staying here. This location is filled with magic, great locals, and beautiful views. Take the 4 mile hike to the beach (follow trail markers and wear sturdy shoes). Gearrannan is a trip back through time and a hidden gem on the Isle of Lewis, just don't tell too many people.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived on spec, not really sure what we would find. As soon as we got out the car and heard the corncrake we knew we were in for a treat. Mairi was lovely - she is very efficient and kind. Showed us the hostel - there are three rooms, all bunk beds, one is a family room. The heart of the hostel is the kitchen which is fully equipped, bright and clean. It's £15 per person per night to stay plus £8 for breakfast - cooked and served in the cafe in another blackhouse. The heating is completely eco friendly and the whole place is gorgeous. Very handy for the coastal walk and just a short stroll to abeautiful bay. Some lovely craft work in the gift shop and some real stories to be told and to hear

Room Tip: It's bunk beds in a hostel. The showers are hot and plenty of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Visited the Blackhouse Village in May this year. Was a modest £3 entry fee and you could visit a few of the houses in the village. One was set up as a museum with a real peat fire (so lovely) and a member of staff on hand to answer questions and tell you about the houses. Was really lovely to see. Through the back room of the museum was a tweed loom, set up and demos available. Really fascinating to see how the tweed is made. Overall worth visiting. I didn't visit the Blackhouse at Arnol so can't make a comparison. Lovely gift shop here too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fantastic stay at the 4 star blackhouse. Mairi was very attentive ensuring that she came to welcome us despite us arriving late. The blackhouse was very comfortable - especially the wood/coal burning stove. Weather beautiful and great to get away from 3G and the Vodafone network. An excellent holiday and such a remote location you feel like you are the only people there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Me and my fiancé wanted to find and stay in a place that was out the way, and when I came across the Gearrannan Blackhouse Village on the VisitScotland website it was perfect. On arrival it was even more isolated, again, this was what we were looking for. We stayed in the smallest blackhouse for two. It was cosy and ideal for us with a living room snug, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom plus underfloor heating. If you are looking for not overly-expensive accommodation which is far away from anything and everything then this is ideal. There was a lovely beach situated at the end of the village and in general there are plenty of hills and vast expanses to walk and explore. The nearest town for amenities is Stornoway, about 45 mins away. If you are there on a Sunday, plan a day with the outdoors as Stornoway with all its little shops and cafés was in shutdown mode. There is not much to do specifically, like visiting typical tourist sites etc...but this is the exact purpose of why one would stay here. You feel like you have gone back in time and with the ancient landscape of the Hebrides you really get a sense of its history. A charming place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely stay, enjoyed fresh air, climbing hills and beach walks, owners were welcoming, rabbits running around in garden, very sweet, lots of good memories and lots to see, could not get the wood burner going tho

Room Tip: could not get wood to burn in wood burner, next time we go we will take own wood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Disappointed, wasn't what I expected, I didn't realise it was mainly holiday accommodation. The tourist bit was poor. One member of staff was annoyed we had disturbed him from his reading his paper. Another member of staff had shut the video room early, but did reluctantly reopen it for us. However we did see a basking shark it the bay so left happy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gearrannan Blackhouse Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

Address: Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carloway
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Hotel Carloway
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Carloway, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.