We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carloway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village
Save
You added Gearrannan Blackhouse Village to your Saves list
Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A very interesting place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Visited the museum and the reconstructed houses in June. They are very interesting and the videos showing the weaving, peat digging, etc are well worth watching. The holiday houses were being cleaned when we were there and they looked to be well- maintained and would be interesting to stay in. the staff we met were very friendly and chatty and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned to Aberdeen after a 6day stay in tigh glass. The black house was fantastic and the pictures did not do it justice. It had all mod cons and the view out of the front door are fantastic. We had rain, sun, wind and a bit of drizzle which only went to make the views more amazing. We will be back again and this time, staying for longer than 6 days.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The blackhouse village is listed as major visitor attraction in Lewis, but when you get there and pay the £2-70 to get in you discover it only has a tiny 'museum' and the rest of the village is given over to the hostel. As a visitor attraction I rate this very poorly, as a place to stay beware of the hoards of tourists that will be around looking for the rest of the visitor attraction for which they have just paind to enter but does not exist.
Overall I would recommed visiting Harris rather than Lewis for sceneryand beaches.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were fortunate enough to book one of the modernized blackhouses for a stay of three days. Our cottage was a perfect balance of rustic architecture and modern updates with a warm fire and fully equipped kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I especially appreciated Mairi's concierge-like attention and patience. Many scenic and historic attractions are nearby, and it was charming to meet visitors at our doorstep who thought we were part of the village life exhibits. (Mairi helpfully suggested that we keep the door locked to keep day visitors from wandering in, but this was not a problem at all.) We hope to come back for a longer stay in the future and have already recommended Gearannan to friends. I should also note that this rental is priced competitively and that we saved a lot of money preparing our own meals in the very nice kitchen. Being from Hawaii, I have to say we were shown true "Aloha" here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage, which though rated only 3-star was ideal for our purposes. Clean and cosy, it looks out to a bay onto the Atlantic, ideal to watch the setting sun after a hard day's sightseeing of Lewis and Harris (or sunbathing on the best beaches in the world, in the recent heatwave!). Higly recommended, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had such a wonderful two night stay here with friends. Warm and friendly welcome and staff couldn't be more helpful. The cottage was lovely, warm, clean and comfortable. One of the nicest places I have ever stayed with beautiful views and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've stayed here 2 times already and every time I leave I’m hoping I will some how find my way back. This may not be a 5 star hotel or the most convenient location but if your looking for memories and gorgeous evening of sitting and relaxing in a beautiful rocky bay then it will be heaven. The accommodation is superb and the people very friendly. There is a lot to see and do within a short drive or even just a little walk. I will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gearrannan Blackhouse Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

Address: Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carloway
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Hotel Carloway
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Carloway, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.