We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carloway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village
Save
You added Gearrannan Blackhouse Village to your Saves list
Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Keaau, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing location and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were fortunate enough to book one of the modernized blackhouses for a stay of three days. Our cottage was a perfect balance of rustic architecture and modern updates with a warm fire and fully equipped kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I especially appreciated Mairi's concierge-like attention and patience. Many scenic and historic attractions are nearby, and it was charming to meet visitors at our doorstep who thought we were part of the village life exhibits. (Mairi helpfully suggested that we keep the door locked to keep day visitors from wandering in, but this was not a problem at all.) We hope to come back for a longer stay in the future and have already recommended Gearannan to friends. I should also note that this rental is priced competitively and that we saved a lot of money preparing our own meals in the very nice kitchen. Being from Hawaii, I have to say we were shown true "Aloha" here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage, which though rated only 3-star was ideal for our purposes. Clean and cosy, it looks out to a bay onto the Atlantic, ideal to watch the setting sun after a hard day's sightseeing of Lewis and Harris (or sunbathing on the best beaches in the world, in the recent heatwave!). Higly recommended, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had such a wonderful two night stay here with friends. Warm and friendly welcome and staff couldn't be more helpful. The cottage was lovely, warm, clean and comfortable. One of the nicest places I have ever stayed with beautiful views and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've stayed here 2 times already and every time I leave I’m hoping I will some how find my way back. This may not be a 5 star hotel or the most convenient location but if your looking for memories and gorgeous evening of sitting and relaxing in a beautiful rocky bay then it will be heaven. The accommodation is superb and the people very friendly. There is a lot to see and do within a short drive or even just a little walk. I will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

This is a cluster of carefully restored thatched roof "black houses" on a small cove of the Atlantic. There are three well equipped self-catering cottages well suited for a couple or small family and a fourth house accommodating up to 16. The location is remote, but close to the spectacular Callanish stones and other Lewis attractions. Just being here is a memorable experience. (We've just returned from our tenth visit -- and are planning to return next year.)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Oliva, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our stay at Gearrannan was one of the highlights of our recent trip to the Western Isles. The blackhouses certainly look the part from the village street - indeed, even if you're not staying there, would absolutely recommend that you visit to see the museum house and exhibition and visit the great shop and cafe - but inside expect all mod cons.

Our' cottage, the 'sailor's house', had a very spacious double room, a 'cabin' with box bed for one, a pleasant modern shower room with a good shower, a smallish kitchen/dining area (NB no washing machine or dishwasher) and a compact sitting room with stove (coal provided.) It was advertised as sleeping 5 but we felt this would be very cramped and 3 adults was the maximum for comfort.

Do however be prepared for the lack of windows (roof lights only except in the bedroom to preserve authenticity) which could a bit feel mole-like to some and also to bump into day visitors at your front door (although we rather enjoyed this)..

The village 'team' under Mairi are really friendly and welcoming and justifiably proud of all that Gearrannan has to offer.

So, go on, take the plunge and stay in one of the cottages for a few days. You definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I am posting this review to relay important news on the hostel

The hostel at Gearrannan closed permanently on 23 May 2011. I copy a statement from the operators, Gatliff Hebridean Hostels Trust:

It is with regret that the Gatliff Hebridean Hostels Trust announces that the hostel at Garenin is permanently closed. It will not reopen.

We apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment this will cause.

Our lease on the building expires on 31 March 2012 and we have to vacate the building on that date, leaving the building as it was when first leased to us. This closure will allow us to fulfil our lease obligations.

If you should hear from any other source that the building is open, please inform us immediately so that all sources may be made aware of the correct position.

Please note that the SYHA hostel handbook for 2011, which states that Garenin hostel is opening from 1 April 2011, is not the current information in respect of the hostel. (The SYHA handbook was printed before the heating issues arose.) The SYHA is aware that the hostel is closed.
Please also note that Garenin village continues to operate normally.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gearrannan Blackhouse Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

Address: Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carloway
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Hotel Carloway
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Carloway, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.