We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm host and home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
63 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm host and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lynn has set the bar for all B&B experiences. Lynn herself was warm, bubbly, and right on target. She made my boyfriend and I feel like family in her home and took care of us - even when we almost had no way of transporting our precious whiskey home! Her home was cozy and perfectly laid out, quiet even though other guests were across the hall. Location was central. The breakfasts were truly amazing - the best we had in all of Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent a week at this lovely B&B over Easter, and felt so well looked after and relaxed. The cosy, clean rooms are well equipped with comfy beds, lovely linen, very well stocked tea and coffee making facilities and pretty view. There was also a hairdryer and bottle opener. Lynn was a wonderful hostess, and those breakfasts set us up for the day!

Lynn was happy for us to use the dining room in the evenings if we wanted, and there were also drinks and snacks available too at any time.

The location is great - bang next to the ferry, and easy walking distance to the pub/eateries. We walked to the Ardbeg distillery from the front door. There is also a Co-op very close by for any supplies that you need.

Thank you Lynn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a week with Lynn at The Oystercatcher two years ago and were happy that she was able to book us for our second stay. Lynn is delightful and made us feel like part of her family while giving us all the privacy we wanted. My husband, adult son and I booked both rooms so the second floor was all ours. Lynn's breakfasts are absolutely wonderful! The beds are comfortable and everything is extremely clean. We would love the opportunity to return to The Oystercatcher.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a very enjoyable week-end, the food and accommodation were excellent and Lynn was very helpful and friendly. It is ideally located for distilleries, American monument and Kildalton Cross.
Ann & John.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely home, lovely rooms, lovely food and lovely hostess. Lynn spoilt us and we were so happy here. All in all excellent and we do hope to return to this beautiful village. Lynn was very helpful in answer to our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Oystercatcher. What a great B&B and Lynn was a delightful host. The Room was quite large very clean and tidy, sea views and the decor really made me feel like i was in a fishing village. Lynne's breakfasts are the biggest I have ever had, who needs lunch. Will recommend to anyone and will have no hesitation in booking again when we return to the Island.
PS if staying ask Lynne to organize her seafood dinner - it was huge and very fresh and the best seafood we had in all Britain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilypleased
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My Fiancé and I stayed here as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. This was by far the best B&B I have ever been in. The room was beautiful and so so clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and all freshly cooked. The owner Lynn was more than accommodating going well beyond her duties and so friendly. All in all, a top place to stay and thanks Lynn for making our stay in Islay one to remember! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast

Address: 63 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast Port Ellen, Islay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.