We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe with inexpensive food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardbeg Distillery

Ardbeg Distillery
Port Ellen PA42 7EA, Scotland
44 (0) 1496 302244
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$584*
and up
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Port Ellen
Type: Breweries, Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great cafe with inexpensive food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I didn't attend the distillery tour (but I have heard very good things about it), I was simply there for the cafe, which was great.

The food was extremely tasty, and reasonably healthy (by which I mean it wasn't all fried this & fat-covered that) and was not high in price by comparison to other restaurants in Islay.

The gift shop was also very nifty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    70
    25
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Distillery delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Not a whiskey drinker - but the trip to Ardbeg was a real tonic. It is not easy to find eating places for lunch in darkest November but a visit to Ardbeg lit up our day. The staff in the restaurant were superb hosts, nothing was too much bother to them. They wanted to make the customers feel relaxed and happy and did a fine job too. The lunch menu was varied enough to cover all tastes and we left well satisfied.... and with a bottle of gold stuff as a gift for friends. A very enjoyable visit all round.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had lunch at the restaurant - the service was friendly and quick. I enjoyed the largest salmon fishcake I have every had with homemade tartare sauce. Delicious :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great distillery tour hosted by excellent tour guide. Tour is very informative about whiskey making process and has some great sampling opportunities along they way including from a barrel. The tour concludes with a great tasting of rare Ardbeg scotches. Finally, there is a great restaurant n the premises so plan your tour around lunch time! Definitely book tour time in advance and don't miss this tour if are on Islay

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solroed Strand, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Arbeg - The Whisky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

For me Ardbeg always has stood as one of the best. So when you are going to visit a distillery like Arbeg you can only be disappointed or? The tour around the distillery was one of the best I have joined, our guide, a young tall reed hair Scottich girl was amazing and a fantastic tour guide. Followed by a fantastic tasting where we tasted all the program (and lots). Well done Ardbeg - You are still on the top of my list.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardbeg Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Ardbeg Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardbeg Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.