We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt totally spoiled by this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Islay Hotel to your Saves list
The Islay Hotel
Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt totally spoiled by this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in October and had a really wonderful break. Our room was perfect - easily the best room I have stayed in and we were in the gold suite (the platinum suite must be exceptional!). Filter coffee in the room was a nice extra as I hate instant!

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, again, one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had. I also had the scallop starter one night, which was also really delicious. Walking distance to distilleries (important for us non drivers) and it was also easy to get to on the bus. Really great bar, with an ridiculously large choice of malts! My only criticism was the whisky seemed expensive compared to Edinburgh pubs - but I guess Island life adds an expense.

All in all we felt totally spoiled by our break, and the voucher was really excellent value - thanks!

Room Tip: Gold suite has an amazing bath and is massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for leaving us a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the comments about the breakfast on offer as we pride ourselves on a Scottish breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    64
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
96
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January 2014. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. The hotel is modern but decorated throughout with beautiful furniture and interesting artwork. The room we were given (Room 8) was large and nicely decorated, with sea views and a large modern bathroom with very large bath.

The staff were helpful and friendly throughout, from the reception to the restaurant to the bar. The bar has a cosy and welcoming feel, with one of the best whisky selections we have ever seen. We ate breakfast and dinner here and the food was of a very good standard.

The Islay Hotel is located very close to the Port Ellen ferry, making this an ideal base for exploring the island. We will stay here again.

Mr and Mrs Henry, Glasgow, UK

Room Tip: Room 8 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of what we offer here and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilcreggan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and what mre could be said apart from fantastic. Food is seond to non, even the bar menue was fantastic. Special mention to Nigel who couldn't have been more of a help. There was a small problem with hot water one night but this was sorted ASAP by him and he even provided a complementary drink because of this. So I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a brilliant friendly hotel with 5star service and excellent food and accommodation. Well done to all the staff and will definitely be seeing you again.

Graham & Tracey Walker

Room Tip: All fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed hogmanay with us and were well looked after. We apologies again about the hot water loss during your stay and are pleased it did not affect your overall enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a gem of a hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of our three night stay. It is faultless. Thanks to all the staff for making it such a wonderful stay. The bedroom was luxurious and I returned home feeling I have been to a luxury Spa. Stephanie & David Weager from Gloucestershire.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review, its great to read that you found your stay so relaxing. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Islay Hotel is in a great location, just near the ferry landing. The hotel is located on the original property location. It was torn down and completely rebuilt two years ago. Everything is new. The bedroom had some great furniture in it. The bathroom was equally impressive. The food in the restaurant is pretty impressive. Breakfast was included and offered the standard Scottish fare. The pub in the hotel has a very impressive collection of single-malt Scotch whisky. We spent three nights here, as our base for touring the Islay (and Jura) distilleries. There are three within just three miles of the hotel. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the whole experience from the rooms to the food and also our wide collection of Islay malts. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A wonderful meal - from Michaela's help when booking, to the offer of a piper piping Happy Birthday to my boyfriend who was celebrating his 40th Birthday. Lovely attentive service, and wonderful food - scallops with oxtail to die for. A real treat; we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your meal and the whole experience, we are always happy to help our guests and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Island hotel for two nights. We were supposed to visit Islay for three nights, unfortunately we had to cancel one night because of a storm that had stroken the island, and we were unable to reach the place in time for this. The staff of the Islay hotel have been so incredibly helpful and offered us the possibility of replacing one night of stay with another or to get a refund of the lost night. We chose the second option (and we are very grateful to Islay hotel staff for this) because we had to go to Edimburgh to get the flight in time, but our stay have been so good and pleasant that we checked out against the grain. The Islay Hotel is situated in front an enchanting bay in Port Ellen: from here is very easy to reach, even by walk, the closest distilleries. The hotel is charming and welcoming. We booked a superior room, which was very big, clean, warm and very, very comfortable, perfect to get some relax after a long day out. The restaurant in the hotel is also excellent: food is fresh and perfectly cooked, relaxing and charming atmosphere and the service was also perfect. Breakfast served in the morning was great as well, with a large choice of cooked and continental breakfast. Thanks again to the reception staff for the overall service. Our stay was perfect and I felt very sad before leaving. I would have stayed for other 2-3 days! I am looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. Unfortunately the weather can disturb peoples plans and we always try to be as accommodating as possible for our guests. We are pleased you did manage to make for 2 out of the 3 nights and we certainly hope you come and see us again for a longer stay in good weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islay Hotel

Address: Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebuilt on the site of the old Islay Hotel, offering 13 excellent bedrooms. From standard rooms with walk-in showers to extra large rooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower we can accommodate all requirements. Fantastic restaurant with a great selection of Island landed seafood dishes along side our Game supplied by local estates and Argyll Beef and Lamb. Our bar has one of the best collections of Islay whisky on the Island. The hotel is open all year around and are ideally situated next to Port Ellen Harbour and Ferry terminal. We are the nearest hotel to Laphroig, Lagavulin and Argbeg distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Islay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islay Hotel Port Ellen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.