We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Islay Hotel to your Saves list
The Islay Hotel
Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited the bar and had the lunchtime menu twice during August 19th-28th. Menu and food very good and staff very friendly. Hotel finished to a very high modern standard. Really enjoyable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I'm pleased you enjoyed your Lunchtime experience with us. Our a la carte Dinner menu is proving to be very popular too so on your next visit perhaps we can tempt you. Look forward to welcoming you to the Islay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    64
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
96
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhu, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This has been the wettest, coldest summer I remember in 70 years, but our 4 days on Islay were warm, sunny and the wind was light, making outdoor leisure a pleasure.

Our good fortune with the weather was complimented by the facilities of the Islay Hotel, a new development on a formerly forlorn site, in the centre of Port Ellen. The Hotel is tasteful, comfortable and the bedrooms are a perfection.

Evening dinner was a disappointment and I discussed this with the manager, Scott, On the next occasion we avoided all seafood and the meal was perfect.

The bar has a nice atmosphere and all the staff are helpful and kind. We remember our visit with affection and are glad we chose to stay at the Islay Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our new venture here on Islay. Being a new hotel we are still finding our way but I am happy that we could respond to your comments and provide an excellent stay for you. We look forard to you coming to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have visited Islay for about the last ten years and I have to say this hotel is a credit to Islay. The minute you walk in, you could be mistaken for being in London, not Islay! My Husband and two children visited on Saturday 28 July 2012 at about 6.30pm and was met by a lovely lady on reception who ushered us through to the dining room and I have to say it is a bit of an eye opener! Very swish and backed up by very attentive friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you. The menu was varied and not disappointing at all. I had scallops for starter and then sea bass (my Husband had scallops for main) and they were beautiful, the only complaint I could make is that the childs portion of soup could have been a little larger and in not such a small bowl. Will most certainly visit again in the future. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our new venture. The staff apprieciated your kind words when we are working so hard to get everything up to speed. A project like this isn't built in a day but thankfully it is coming together nicely.
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice friendly staff let down by a poor meal. We had roast beef dinner which was bland and tasteless. My mother had a vegetarian linguine which she had thre fork-fulls of and left the rest as again she said it was tasteless. The waitress who cleared our table enquired why my mum's plate was almost untouched and when we told her she said "Oh, OK" and left. She was not offered an alternative and we were charged the full price for the meal. It was a real shame as the hotel is lovely and the staff were very nice. Get the food sorted out and the Islay hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meals. Perhaps on the next occassion we can reach the standard you had hoped for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you go to islay then you have to eat at the islay hotel in port Ellen. It's a little piece of what Scotland does best. Superb cuisine matched by its surroundings and service that wouldnt be out or place in a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our new venture. We are pleased you enjoyed the experience so much. It is our aim to offer local produce prepared well and it seems to have been apprieciated by alot of people. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you to Islay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

must say the Hotel is lovely decor superb and very clean, the service for lunch was very poor no welcome on arrival at the bar waited ages to be served and the quality of the food average could do with better garnish with the sandwhiches, would not return to eat at this Hotel unless the staff have better customer care and no how to meet and great guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Islay Hotel. Our bar staff are usually very efficient and helpful so your lack of service is abit of a surprise. I hope you enjoyed the sandwich and we will look at how we can improve the garnish for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited the Islay Hotel for a meal and I did so want to like it. The restuarant was lovely and the young staff really pleasant and fairly efficient. My husband's main course was ok while mine was not particularly impressive and both were overpriced for what you got. The desserts were standard and what you would get anywhere else. My main complaint is with the noise coming from the bar downstairs while you are having your meal.Would I return - probably not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islaymanager, Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of our new venture. We aren't looking to create great waves in the culinary world just serve well prepared fresh local produce at a price that is within the norm for the location. This I feel we achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islay Hotel

Address: Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebuilt on the site of the old Islay Hotel, offering 13 excellent bedrooms. From standard rooms with walk-in showers to extra large rooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower we can accommodate all requirements. Fantastic restaurant with a great selection of Island landed seafood dishes along side our Game supplied by local estates and Argyll Beef and Lamb. Our bar has one of the best collections of Islay whisky on the Island. The hotel is open all year around and are ideally situated next to Port Ellen Harbour and Ferry terminal. We are the nearest hotel to Laphroig, Lagavulin and Argbeg distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Islay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islay Hotel Port Ellen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.