We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in a wonderful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Kiln Cafe

The Old Kiln Cafe
Arbeg Distillery, Port Ellen PA42 7EA, Scotland
+44 (0)1496 302244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Port Ellen
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Bradford
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a wonderful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for lunch after taking part in the distillery tour.
There was a good choice on the menu and the food was tasty, fresh and well presented. Would definitely recommend The Old Kiln cafe

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“an excellent lunch in a historic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We dropped into the cafe as we had heard good things about it. It is in the old kiln barn of the distillery. We were a family group and the food was speedily delivered by a charming waitress. The price was very reasonable and everyone enjoyed their meal. Well done Ardbeg

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic! The cafe was recommended to us by a friend and I can see why. We had a gorgeous lunch. There is lots on the menu to choose from and something to suit everyone. We will be back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ardbeg yer puddin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great food in fantastic Ardbeg distillery, what's not to like? It can be a little busy depending on time of year but you can book in advance. Prices are very reasonable with very good friendly service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Loved this cafe! We went during the Islay festival and had such a nice meal. Try their sticky toffee pudding, it is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Kiln Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Old Kiln Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Kiln Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.