We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most hotels aspire to this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Charlotte Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Port Charlotte Hotel to your Saves list
Port Charlotte Hotel
Main St, Port Charlotte PA48 7TU, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special winter offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Most hotels aspire to this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

I agree with other posts - everything about this hotel is either very good or excellent. No pretensions - just good staff delivering a great service. The food, drink, rooms were all great, and the staff were friendly, helpful, professional and attentive.

Overlooking the beach, loch and mountains of Jura in the distance, its in a superb location. A quiet village, but enough to keep your interest for a few days and reasonably central for getting around the island.

My first trip to Scotland since the smoking ban and what bliss not to have stinking clothes at the end of a evening. The log fire and welcoming staff entice you in out of the rain (rain? surely not?)

The bar caters for all and the portions are large. The restaurant has a separate kitchen and menu, and the food is top quality - mostly local produce - oysters, lamb, fish, venison, beef, scallops...... Couldn't fault it at all. What most hotels should aspire to.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    12
    15
    6
See reviews for
34
68
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

We recently stayed at the Port Charlotte with friends, in mid-april and had a wonderful time. The people who work there are very enthusiastic, and know all about whats going on, which is quite alot! A classical concert in a private home one night, and a musical evening at a local distillery another...songs and scotch!! Food excellent, decor very good and appropriate for the location(I am fussy) and now that there's no smoking, one can even eat and drink in the bar.
We heartily recommend it !!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cumbria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

We have just returned from a mid winter break in Islay. The island itself is beautiful, and so relaxing even in the rain! We stayed at the Port Charlotte Hotel and I have to say it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The warmth and friendliness of all the staff was the best we have ever encountered - anywhere. We travelled with a 9 month baby and I have to say the staff at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The hotel itself is tastefully furnished, the food excellent and our bedroom had a spectacular view. there was even traditional Scottish entertainment on the Sunday night - fantastic. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Perthshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

Had an excellent long weekend in this hotel. This was our first visit to Islay and we were very impressed. The people on Islay are incredibly friendly and the scenery stunning but it was the hotel that made the weekend.

Our room had an amazing view to the Sea, was very comfortable and well furnished.
The food was of a high standard and the service excellent. We ate from both the restaurant and bar and found both to be very good.
The selection of wine on offer in the restaurant is impressive and reasonably priced. The selection of Islay Whisky on offer in the bar is even more impressive!

The staff in the hotel are very welcoming and friendly making the hotel a very pleasant place to stay.
Even better is the 3 nights for 2 offer they had on for the winter that we took adavntage of.

We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

Graham and Isabelle have got the balance just right here. The food, rooms and decor are high quality but not snotty. You feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. One aspect I don't think the other reviews here mention is that quite a lot of live music takes place in the bar. During our stay, local musicians played several times - Scottish music mainly; and you were welcome to join in if brave enough.

The staff work hard but are very friendly. Basically, if you like quality without snootiness, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

We chose this hotel based primarily on comments here, and have to say it exceeded our expectations tremendously! Our hosts, Grahame and Isabelle were both charming and attentive, and they have created here an idyllic little inn.

The island itself is worth a visit, but having now visited most of it, can say that this is truly the BEST place to experience this remote and stunningly beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

Excellent staff, v friendly welcome- coffee, biscuits and a go at their own Islay blend of malt whisky. Room small but well decorated- good art which is also throughout the hotel, and really gives it a special edge.

Decent shower and well sized bathroom; tide gently lapped against the shore outside the bedroom and lulled us to sleep.

Really good food- but slightly better value in the bar - great Thai Red Curry and spectacular Spinach and Ricotta cannelloni.
Breakfast- V nice coffee- good fry up / excellent kippers- exceptionally tasty.

Lounge is small but well catered for with board games and a lovely old chess set that has clearly been around in the family for a while. Comfy sofas and (of course) an enourmous whisky list, though only Islay whisky- so no Talisker, Macallan, etc.

Cracking stay all told, and Port Charlotte is the most beatiful village on Islay- much more so than rather gray and depressing Bowmore.

PS. Bruichladdich is in walking distance and Mary there gives a fantastic tour...!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Charlotte Hotel

Address: Main St, Port Charlotte PA48 7TU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Port Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Charlotte Hotel Islay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Charlotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.