We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Askaig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Askaig Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Askaig PA46 7RB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Askaig
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A remarkable place on the edge of the Isle of Islay (next to the ferry port). Stayed there for three nights in September 2012, and the B&B rate for the superior room was £ 115,- prpn. Quiet location, the room was spacious and very well maintained. No TV set considered an added bonus (if you really need one, I think there's one in the residents' lounge on 1st floor). True, the location is not cheap but value for money in comparison to other accommodation on Islay. Free WiFi in the bar and lounge areas. Parking lot could be a bit more spacious. Very friendly personnel, and the proprietors make you feel welcome immediately. Special mention for the chef and his creative off-menu meals when asked for vegetarian fare - wonderful seafood prepared, as well. Comfortable bar with great local live music (experienced Friday evening) and an excellent choice of malt whiskies. And the view? When did you last sip a one quid dram while watching the ferry coming in?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We value the work our chef and other core staff put in to enhance our guest's experience and are delighted that you found Port Askaig Hotel to be a comfortable base for your holiday - and yes we love our view too! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    17
    17
    29
See reviews for
20
41
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September, taking advantage of the "Special Autumn Offer" and thoroughly enjoyed it! As mentioned by a previous reviewer the rate was £125 per night, but she forgot to mention that this was for D,B&B for two people - try getting that value anywhere else on Islay! Yes, there's no television in the bedrooms but, seriously, why would you want or need one there?

The same reviewer also mentioned about food being on the expensive side, but if on a DBB rate, why would they have to purchase more? I suggest that if they had "plenty of money" they would have booked something a little more commercial, but the hotel can't be blamed for their lack of funds! I couldn't even finish the enormous portions served up to me, delicious as they were and felt so guilty I had to keep apologising for not clearing my plate. Sadly (very sadly) I could not even manage a dessert on either night. Oh, but the “Special Autumn Offer” also included a complimentary bottle of House Wine with the first meal which unfortunately both I and the staff forgot about it, so perhaps worth mentioning whilst you’re there to avoid kicking yourself later!

Yes, some of the hotel is a little tired, but this is a family run business, not a multiple hotel chain with endless pots of cash to throw at the venture, plus they are trying to retain some areas in period style, but it is clean, comfortable and cosy,

However, what made this stay really memorable was the wonderful food and the incredibly friendly and helpful staff - which more than makes up for any shortcomings in the decoration! I had “venison chops” as my main meal on first night – cooked EXACTLY as requested and extremely tender meat, but so enormous I wanted to “ask a friend” to help me! Second night I chose “slow cooked lamb shank” which was falling off the bone and melting in my mouth… maybe next time I’ll go for starters OR mains then skip to desserts which is the only way I’ll manage to experience all the delights Chef has to offer.

BUT, each and every staff member I encountered was so friendly, helpful, accommodating and customer focussed that THIS was what really made the stay for me! There was “live entertainment” on the Friday night and a staff member who had already finished their shift included us in their company, introducing us to friends and making us feel part of the company… if you visit Islay and fail to see the friendliness of the Islanders, well perhaps you’re in the wrong place?

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room overlooking the harbour - a magnificent view! Oh and if you want a televisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We loved meeting you folks and enjoyed your company on the music night. Thank you so much for your comprehensive review - Chef Yan has been informed of your appreciation of his skills and we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your break on our Special offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Port Askaig in the future - be sure to mention you are returning guests to obtain a loyalty discount. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here over 2 nights from the 28th September 2012. We were on a special deal which included bed, breakfast and evening meal.

The owner booked us in and was extremely friendly and welcoming. We had just arrived and were invited to a live music night in the Old Port Bar at the hotel. OK I was sold on this.

Firstly the room was not 5 star I agree, but it was comfortable, warm and what more do you want for a good nights sleep. Our room (Mull) was HUGE facing the harbour and over the sound to Jura. Probably the best view from any hotel I have stayed in ever.

We went down to dinner (which was a limited menu for the deal) but what a surprise. I had lovely home made mushroom soup with delicious bread to start and then the venison arrived. The size of a small country and perfectly cooked to my taste I could not finish it, and what a relief to get well cooked delicious vegetables and no frilly salad cluttering the plate. (Which I normally leave anyway). Sweet was not an option as I could not eat another thing.

Live music in the bar? We went down and were surprised to see a few people there already. Then the floodgates opened and I was left wondering where they all came from. The night was good and the locals really friendly and we felt, not strangers, but friends. Was it good? I will leave it up to you to decide but we didn't leave to go back to the room until after 1am!

Quiet and fitful nights sleep until it was time to eat again. What a breakfast. It saved money on eating at lunchtime I can tell you.

That evening we were informed the chef was not on duty but his second in command was available. I waited in anticipation as the manu had been changed and what a surprise. To start I had pate (and ate the salad!) and then I had the mixed grill of venison, chicken and duck and vegetables. Again I couldnt finish it.

Another great sleep, breakfast and checked out the following day, happy and rested (AND well fed).

Overall - yes it isn;t a 5 star hotel and yes there are things which could be improved but overall it was a friendly, comfortable hotel with really nice staff and left us with an impression much higher than we had hoped to expect. Will we return? Probably!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to get a room overlooking the harbour. It is the most spectacular view and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
A very late response to a generous review. Thank you for taking the time to write and for the kind comments. We are delighted to be able to recommend with confidence the food our Chef and his assistant prepare - and the night in the bar with the music - well we quite enjoy that too, as you probably guessed. We do hope that you will return and if getting in touch do not forget to mention your previous stay for a loyalty discount. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Starting with a positive the hotels location is idilic and at the ferry port . We stayed for couple of nights the rooms were overpriced and very basic and certainly did not expect luxury but for £125 a night you expect a little more than tired room with no television. The food we had was very good although again on the expensive side . I would not recommend staying here unless you have plenty of money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
The rooms are not 5 star - we are and advertise as a 2 star hotel If you had a superior room they are all refurbished from the floor up. All standard rooms have had fresh beds, decor and carpeting in the last two seasons but we are well aware that we have more work to do on the en suites in these rooms. Our prices are reflective of the high cost of goods to the island generally but are as competetive as we can make them to survive on a 6/7 month season in a hotel with staff that stays open 365 to provide a service at this ferry port and to the surrounding community.
We are confident to promote our food , bar and warm welcome to all comers and hope that you did find something to enjoy in your stay. On a personal note - if there are things that we can do to make any guest's stay more enjoyable - we will try very hard to help - but this is impossible if instead of speaking directly with ourselves as owners or with our excellent staff, guests choose to use only this type of media to express dis satisfaction - long after their stay has ended. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was working on Islay , and arranged accomodation here at the Port Askaig Hotel for one evening.

When my collegues on Islay asked me what hotel i was in they described it as "Faulty Towers", thats when my expectations dropped.

I arrived at the hotel and went to check in, i was met with a very pleasent member of staff who checked me in and told me i was staying over in "The apartment"... Sounded good to me..

So we crossed the road, and she showed me in... the smell of Urine and Dampness stung my nostrills as she opened the apratment door. The member of staff showed me to the room i had within the apartment, that i shared with another gentleman who was occupying the lounge area.

I went into my room and i was surprised to see not one but two TV sets... Strange!?

Problem is none of the TV sets worked!! I was starting to understand the "Faulty Towers" statements now..

The only way i got through this stay was by leaving the room, eating out and popping some sleeping pills to get through this horror show of a stay.

Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I recently took our first trip to Islay, and the evening out at the Port Askaig Hotel was part of this visit. We received a warm welcome from Marion and the staff, and we were extremely well looked after for the duration of the evening.
The Snug Bar was pleasant for a drink before the meal, while perusing the menu. There was a good choice of local seafood and meat dishes, and it was hard to choose.
We ate in the Starboard Restaurant, where we had a window seat. The service was efficient, perhaps too efficient due to the extremely generous portions! However we managed to do the food justice, simply because it was so good.We thought the wine list offered very good value- the quality was superb. Choice of dessert is easy because the hotel does a taster plate with a selection from the menu.
Afterwards it was pleasant to finish with coffee and local whisky back in the Snug, just enjoying the friendly atmosphere and the banter.
The Hotel is in a beautiful and convenient location on Islay, which is a really scenic island destination. Although we did not stay at the Hotel during our short visit to the island, we certainly enjoyed the meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A picture postcard Hotel outside but very tired inside.. The room was dated, adequate but overpriced. The double glazing panels missing, they also seem to be economising with the light bulbs! We had dinner in the restaurant which was ok but no fresh vegetables. The waiting staff were not smartly dressed and seemed unprepared when we went for breakfast the following morning. We had to wait while a table was set and this was a bit grubby. The selection on the breakfast table was basic, only one juice available and no choice on toast. We stayed at 6 hotels on our trip and this was most definitely the worst. The hotel is convenient for the ferry but I would rather stay elsewhere and get a taxi, it would have been cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Address: Port Askaig PA46 7RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Askaig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Askaig Hotel to your Saves list