Two nights at the Harbour Inn demonstrated some of the hits and misses that previous reviewers have highlighted. At 160 pounds sterling per night, one would imagine the misses would have been eradicated. A sleepless night in Room 6 proved this not to be the case. Apart from the dank smell, low ceiling, and slightly claustrophic atmosphere, noisy flushing sounds and banging doors, we could here everything that went on in the room above. Creaking floorboards, conversation that could be followed, and then snoring that kept us awake until breakfast after we had been woken up around 2am. Thank goodness we were offered Room 5 for the second night - such a nice member of staff, thankyou for arranging it. We would have checked out otherwise.
The food was equally uneven. Bar food the first night was excellent - tasty and creamy mussel soup, for example. We booked for dinner on that basis but... hoping for an Islay beer before dinner, the bar had run out of the two Islay beers we had enjoyed the previous evening...then there was a problem with the pump..then before any drink could be served we were told the food was ready. We hastily chose a wine. The soup chosen was nothing like the previous night. Indeed I barely remember what it was - maybe kohlrabi but it could have been anything with neither taste not texture. The halibut (I suppose farmed if it was from Gigha) was, however, excellent. We did not wait for dessert - or rather, we did wait rather a long time but the staff seemed a bit busy. Overall? I doubt if I would ever stay here again, and I would advise anyone who asked that they should think very carefully before spending so much on what is basically B&B. and avoid Room 6 at all costs. Staying somewhere else and having a meal in the bar - if the beer is on - would be a much safer bet. Ps. thanks again to that very kind member of staff who changed our room.
Go for the top of the house, even if it means a haul upstairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us but we were of course concerned and somewhat puzzled to read your negative comments. We undertook a complete upgrade of each of our guest rooms and bathrooms last year and would stress that we have received no previous complaints about the premier room you booked; room 6 benefits from an attractive patio with outstanding views over the loch and the room is very elegantly and comfortably furnished and featured photographically on our website. We would point out that we have yet again met the very challenging criteria of VisitScotland and achieved our Gold Star award for accommodation for the fourth consecutive year. We would also point out that coincidentally, the television presenter, Lorraine Kelly, recently stayed in that very room and had nothing but good and complimentary things to say about it. We would certainly be confident in recommending guests to stay in this delightful room.
Report response as inappropriate
It would appear, however, that the gentleman in the room above you was an unusually loud snorer which caused you disturbance, and for this of course we do apologise; we did all we could to move you to a room away from this and had understood you to be very happy with your second room. We certainly understand that a disturbed night’s sleep would have a very negative effect of your stay; we would have welcomed a chance to discuss this with you on check-out as it is of paramount importance to us for all guests to leave having had a firstclass stay with us.
Yes, we did experience problems with our beers on the evening you took dinner with us, which we did wholeheartedly apologise to you about and offer alternatives, but the problem stemmed from usually high demand on one particular ale together with a problem with the gases and took a little time to rectify, and sadly this fault happened just as you were wishing to order. We are pleased to say that disruption to our service of our very popular local Islay ales is a very rare occurrence.
We were sorry to hear that the soup you had on your second evening in the restaurant was not to your liking. Again, we would stress, that this was probably a personal thing as we have had many compliments about that particular soup and had received specific requests for it. Our restaurant is very busy at the present time and we would reassure all prospective guests that the quality of our food and the compliments from diners has been exceptional, our new menus meeting with great approval..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.