We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuthall Whisky Society - Islay 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowmore Distillery

Bowmore Distillery
School Street, Bowmore PA43 7JS, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$584*
and up
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Bowmore
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nuthall Whisky Society - Islay 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A very good tour around the distillery, we did have the pleasure of "Ginger Willie" the evening before over dinner at the Bowmore House - he was right the 15yo was the preferred choice of the clan!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Guide was very knowledgeable but you could not hear what she was saying some of the time because of the noise within the distillery

It needs technology for a better experience

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great welcome really hospitable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Interesting whiskey tastings very well tutored by Lesley. Stayed at Bowmore distillery cottage high spec and very comfortable, clean and well maintained.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good standard tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Bowmore tour was very informative and the guide was very friendly and knowledgably.
We learnt about the history of the distillery and the whisky making process. On the tour we could see them hand filling bottles, also can the opportunity to try a nip of the white sprit before it went into the barrel.
At the end of the tour, we had two drams in there; tasting area which was very modern with a fantastic viewing area of the sea.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best on Islay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first of 8 distillery tours on Islay and it scores in the top 2! We appreciate the fact that they do their own floor maltings. Our tour guide on Sunday Sept 8th was extremely knowledgable. There was no question from the group that stumped her. Her accent was Scottish intense and at times a bit difficult to understand but I did not come to Scotland to listen to a New Jersy accent!
The tour was very informative and the tasting room beautiful. The view was amazing. I could have sat there all afternoon. Unlike other distilleries, if you wanted to taste more, you were welcome to come to the bar and try two of their other whiskeys. All in all one of the best tours on Islay!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowmore Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bowmore Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowmore Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.