We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar food I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowmore Hotel

Bowmore Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bowmore Hotel to your Saves list
Bowmore Hotel
Jamieson Street, Bowmore, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best bar food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for a whisky tasting weekend for my stag-do 10th Aug. Really friendly staff, who made you feel very welcome. The breakfasts were made with the finest quality ingredients. Had dinner + a cooked breakfast, and I'd safely say it was the finest I'd had in any bar \ hotel.

Really nice decor in the dining room and bar areas, with some of my favourite whiskies in display cabinets.

The owners + staff were really helpful, and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

Nice firm mattress + big fluffy pillows in the room.

I'd most certainly like to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindalucci, Owner at Bowmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi, really glad you enjoyed your stag do. You were a good crowd. Hope to see you sometime again. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    12
    7
    19
See reviews for
10
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but ate in the recently refurbished restaurant on 4 consecutive evenings during a recent holiday on Islay, and could not fault it. The menu was extensive, the home-cooked food was delicious (and reasonably priced) and the staff were friendly and attentive. Would not hesitate to recommend and it will definitely be our first choice for eating out if we return to Islay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I would avoid this place at all costs. I tried to book for dinner several times during a recent visit and was told the restaurant was full!! It would appear this was not the case and it would be a face fitting place and if they can be bothered serving you! Plenty of other places to eat on Islay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindalucci, Owner at Bowmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am sorry you were unable to get a booking at the hotel. We do not have a large staff and therefore can only feed a limited number of people. We have to feed the people staying at the hotel and the cottages as well. Bookings are taken on a first come first served basis and then if we have space we can take someone who has come in on spec but I would not take a booking if I was not sure I could cope. I am sorry this was a problem for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

stayed here for the first time in january when over working at Bunnahabhain distiliery . We got a very warm welcome from Peter senior.
The rooms are of good quality. the bar is great. and the staff and food are second to none.
Oh aye, Peter junior is a good laugh but not as funny as Luchi.
We came back in june but did'nt come over until we were booked into THE BOWMORE again as we did'nt want to stay anywhere else.
So here's to the next time folks.

Room Tip: Don't get room 2, it's right above the dart board and it's a wee bit noisy if someone is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compiegne, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

For the price I was a little surprised. The bedroom was a little disappointing. Not very modern, very small shower and no bedside table or lamps although it was clean. There was also no hot water so taking a shower was a wee bit chilly! The bar and restaurant area were very nice and the staff friendly. Plus the evening meal & breakfast were delicious. I think my husband can also vouch for the whisky selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a weeks holiday on Islay and spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hospitality and food is second to none. The downstairs is currently under refurbishment and what had been completed was an example of fantastic craftmanship and business manages to carry on as usual. What lets this hotel down is the small rooms, mini en-suites and very small twin beds so not very comforable nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here last November 2012 with friends.Food was excellent,rooms on the small side but fine! staff very friendly and a laugh a minute with Luggie and Co.Fine selections of Islay Malts in the bar will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowmore Hotel

Address: Jamieson Street, Bowmore, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bowmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowmore Hotel Islay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.