We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrique Cottage from the adjacent fields.
Garrique Cottage from the adjacent fields.
Garrique Cottage from the adjacent fields.
Garrique cottage in background , behind garden pond and rhododendrons
Garrique cottage (on right) and Garrique Farmhouse
Cottage garden from the south, with modern kitchen/dining room extension on the right.
The 10 metre long kitchen/dining/living room, with french doors  to the patio and garden.
Kippen
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wecantrav...
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb cottage with staggering views and a true sense of escaping it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage is excellent. We were so pleased to arrive to a home from home after a long flight from Australia with a baby. Delicious surroundings and plenty of opportunities for local walks.
Great sized cottage, perfect for having family to stay with us. Fab location for kids to ramble about and get muddy.
A really nice touch was the spare wellies by the back door!
The cottage is a bit of a drive from the main road, which is part of the charm, but for a long stay (3 weeks) may get a little wearing.
Good coffee and sandwiches in Kippen or at the Woodhouse cafe on the main road. Supermarket about a 15 min drive away with views of Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument - best shopping run I've ever done!
(Very) Small down side was the plumbing is a bit dodgy especially at the back of the house, but it was manageable and didn't cause us any problems.
We loved our stay so very much and encourage others to take the plunge - we hope to return on out next trip to Scotland!

5 of 5 stars Rooms 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
i was disappointed to hear our guests had problems with the plumbing. I asked them several times during their 3 week stay if they had any problems, and they always said everything was fine. It turns out the drain from the shower room was sluggish. I will get it checked out and sorted immediately. Subsequent visitors have not mentioned anything wrong. Like many country cottages, Garrique Cottage has a septic tank, so items such as tampons, facial/baby wipes or a lot of paper can clog up the drains. We provide a small peddle bin for those who want it in the bathroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jabfeb9
zabbar
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This cottage is simply amazing. Starting from the views, the quietness the nature. It had all we looked for a relaxing holiday. The cottage has everything one would need to stay comfortly in house and it is very clean. It is centrally located so nowhere was to far to visit. It is a very safe place for children and enjoyable if the like to see animals. Above all the owners are very nice. Thanks again Fiona for giving us a chance to enjoy your cottage. Will surly return 1 day. Greetings from Malta

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The super views i had.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Debbie N
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage & amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 weeks at Garrique cottage . Everything was just as described to us by the owner Fiona . Beds were all comfortable and our favorite room was the kitchen /family room .Nice and sunny and cozy and we saw lots of butterflies in the back garden . Kitchen is well equipped and had mostly everything we needed . We all had lots of room inside to spread out and having 2 full bathrooms and a half bath was great . Walking around on the farm property was wonderful and we enjoyed seeing all the sheep and highland cattle on our treks .
Location was good for us and we made lots of day trips to Stirling , Edinburgh area , St. Andrews , Dunoon etc. We were also lucky to have had almost 2 weeks of good weather ! Only one day of rain .... WIFI was not always good as Fiona had told us but we were able to check our emails everyday . TV reception was good but we did not watch very much TV .
We would certainly recommend this cottage to any Canadian friends looking for a wonderful cottage in the Gorgeous Scottish countryside .
Thank you Fiona for everything , our granddaughters loved it there and will have wonderful memories of their first trip to Scotland and your farm . Say hi to their buddy in the barn .....

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view and the space inside the cottage .
Liked least: The last section of road to the cottage ,hard on our cars . Also would have liked another love seat in family room . We did not sit in the front sitting room very often .
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Artur A
Port de Lanne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice peaceful cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage is a fantastic place to stay in. It is nice and quiet and the view is just fantastic.
We encountered a lot of wildlife just walking in the hills nearby (rabbits, pheasants, deers, .....) and the cottage is surrounded by meadows with sheep and the famous Highland cows.

The cottage was very clean, very comfortable and very cosy (and very big, we nearly got lost :)).
A very warm welcome (thank you Marian). Always ready to help and advise.

It was very easy to get out and about as the cottage was very central (15 minutes from Stirling, one hour from Edinburgh, the Trossachs were a mere 45 minutes away).

We warmly recommend Garrique cottage if you want to spend a fantastic week in central Scotland

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view and wildlife
Liked least: The road to get the there. Not advisable for low cars, a bit bumpy.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Debgal4
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“Just about everything you'll need to feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Two adults, two teenagers and one mother in law stayed in this spacious three bedroom house (with two separate living room areas) in a fabulous location for our day trips to various parts of Scotland. Day trips to Stirling Castle, Edinburgh Castle, Isle of Skye by way of Loch Ness, St Andrews on the east coast and Campbeltown/Machrihanish on the west coast were very manageable since it didn't get dark til about 10:30pm. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed, from dishwasher detergent to hand lotion to movies and board games. The road leading to the cottage was uphill, curvy and basically one lane but the views along the way were fabulous so we didn't mind it. Beautiful views from the front windows and lovely gardens from the back. Fiona and her husband were very nice and greeted us, even leaving a basket of fresh strawberries on the counter for our arrival. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Scotland who would like a central base for sightseeing. The only negative would be the unreliable internet access, but that was beyond their control.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Fully equipped and the beautiful landscape views.
Liked least: Limited internet access and heat was controlled by the owners.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AussieA61
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous holiday destination with great hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My teenage daughters and I stayed at Garrique Cottage in January 2013. The farmhouse is beautiful with every amenity you could wish for. The scenery is breathtaking and yet you are only 10 - 15 minutes from Stirling - a good sized town for shopping and also the Wallace Monument. Using this as a base we travelled to Loch Lomond, Loch Ness, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Stirling. All up we enjoyed a week at the farmhouse and LOVED every single minute of our time there. The hosts, Nander and Fiona, are so helpful and generous with their time and knowledge that you cannot go wrong. As a family we voted this the favourite part of our extended holiday that included California, London, Wales and Rome. As there was snow when we were there, we can recommend the farmhouse as a winter or summer destination. You'll love it!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location - backing onto forests and overlooking farms, yet close to all tourist spots.
Liked least: In the snow our car had trouble with the drive - but that was the fault of the car and the hosts went out of their way to help us.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HazelK82
West Linton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage - Stunning Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage was great. Accommodation was clean and just as described. Loved the kitchen/dining/living area. The cottage was lovely and warm and the wood burner great to cosy in front of at night. We were a family of 4 adults and 3 children and there was ample space for us and all the stuff we brought as well. The kitchen was well equipped. the owner was friendly and helpful. One of the main features was the stunning views! Wow! The tennis court was particularly great and there can't be many courts with a view like that - the kids loved it and spent lots of time playing on it.. Will definately be back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The kitchen area and the views.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$133
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Fiona R
44 1786 870440
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 12 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing