We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilronan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Allan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilronan House
Save
You added Kilronan House to your Saves list
15 Kenilworth Road | Bridge of Allan, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently stayed at Kilronan with a friend when attending another friend's wedding in the quaint village of Bridge of Allan. Colin and Linda could not have been more helpful as hosts. We arrived in the evening of Friday and asked if there was a restuarant nearby they would recommend. We were sent to a very lovely and close italian restuarant and very much enjoyed our meal. We returned to Kilronan and could not have been more pleased with the room, a beautiful twin bedroom with a seemingly new and very clean en-suit. In addition to the impressive house and bedroom we had views of both Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument which was an lovely treat having never been to the Stirling area before. Breakfast was to die for. I had the Kilronan Special- scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on homemade bread and the dinning room was quiet and comfortable. It was so nice that I even had it again the following morning after the wedding. All and all we found the house idyllic, the bedroom incredibly comfortable and the location both convenient and quiet.
I would not hesitate to urge anyone travelling to the Stirling area to visit Kilronan house, it will not be a disappointment.

Room Tip: The twin room at the front has one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Kilronan, Owner at Kilronan House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and helpful to get your feedback and to know we are getting things right for our guests.

We upgraded our ensuite bathrooms earlier this year and also the beds in our Twin room which are now extra-wide. Glad that enhancements met with your approval.

We hope we may see you again when you are next in Bridge of Allan.

Linda and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
76
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good place to stay. Five minuts to Stirling by car, clean and beautifull. Big rooms and good breakfast. The owners speak spanish, good for more people. The house is perfect. Goor option that i would recomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Kilronan, Owner at Kilronan House, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kilronan House and thank you for giving us the opportunity to practice our Spanish !

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we may see you again when you next visit Scotland. Saludos C&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed at Kilronan House several times in the past six years [from overnight to a week], and have always been impressed by the graciousness of hosts Colin & Linda, their spotlessly clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms [with fruit & biscuit baskets, bottled water, and coffee/tea], their lovely garden, sumptuous breakfasts cooked to order with lots of variety, [they display the national flags of all their guests in the breakfast room], their knowledge & helpfulness in planning local excursions, their recommendations for excellent local restaurants. The location in Bridge of Allan is ideal: a quiet retreat in a beautiful neighborhood, convenient to roads, trains, and busses. And all at most reasonable prices. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Kilronan, Owner at Kilronan House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Will we be seeing you in Bridge of Allan this year ? Our best wishes C&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just spent two wonderful nights at Kilronan. Only one thing wrong - my stay wasn't long enough! This is a fantastic B&B in a fabulous house. My room was beautifully furnished, spacious and had everything I needed for a relaxing stay. I slept soundly in this quiet area of town and awoke to a delicious breakfast served in a lovely dining room. I would not hesitate to recommend Kilronan to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Kilronan, Owner at Kilronan House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review and sorry for our late response. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we may see you again when you next come to Bridge of Allan. best wishes C&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Kilronan House is set in a delightful part of Bridge of Allan and is convenient for a host of unmissable attractions. Colin and Linda were welcoming and attentive hosts and were able to point us in the right direction for maximising our stay.
We slept in very comfortable beds and enjoyed delicious breakfasts in lovely surroundings!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved every minute of our experience at Kilronan House - the lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts, very knowledgable owners who steered us to the best sites (many of which were within 30-45 minutes), walking to the Bridge of Allan High Street, and walking to great restaurants in this gorgeous neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have dreamed of going to the birthplace of my husbands family for many years now.
When we arrived at the Kilronan House after traveling all day in the rain, we were greeted
by Colin and felt right at home. The room was spacious and comfortable and we slept well.
Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and the fare was delicious......our Scottish
Breakfast was delicious. We concur with others that our stay was much too short. We would
definitely stay longer next time. Highly recommend this lovely home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Kilronan, Owner at Kilronan House, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Kilronan House and so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and helps us ensure that we are providing a service that our guests want. We hope we may be of assistance again. Best wishes C&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Address: 15 Kenilworth Road | Bridge of Allan, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian house built 1853. Guest lounge, Free WiFi, spacious en-suite rooms. Quiet village location in a leafy conservation area. Ample off-street parking. Half mile from University of Stirling and 2 miles from Stirling Castle. Numerous good restaurants and pubs within short walking distance. Excellent base for the mountains and lakes of the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. Frequent trains to Edinburgh and Glasgow from local station. Website has photographs and information about what to see and do in this historic part of Scotland. We offer reduced rates for stays of three nights or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilronan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.