We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Allan Water Cafe

The Allan Water Cafe
Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HN,, Scotland
01786 833060
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited the Allan Water Cafe as a family of four. I have had the occasional take away from here before and it has always been very good. As expected the food in the cafe was no different; perfectly cooked non greasy full of flavour chips and wonderfully firm fish with a crisp batter. I really can't fault it at all! The Cafe makes its own ice cream which is all very good too. We all had the "fish tea": a small fish and chips (which believe me is big enough!), drink and wee dish of ice cream and the total bill for all of us, leaving feeling stuffed and fully satisfied was about £36. We will definitely be back as I would rather spend £36 on lovely grub here, than in a pub.

Another point of note is that they have great extraction over the fryers. I was wearing a wool jumper. I sniffed it the next morning and there was not a hint of chip shop on it. It is a pet hate of mine to stink of fried food so this was a really nice surprise.

One of my kids is 12 and we were swaying whether she would have the small fish and chips or something from the kids menu. I was a little surprised to see that the only fish option on the kids menu was fish fingers (!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hit: large fish and chips was excellent. One if the best pieces of fish I've ever had in a chippy. And being from Paisley that's a few. Portions are huge.
Miss: Kids meal. Why in a chippy serving excellent fish is the only kids option deep fried cheap fish fingers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned cafe and chip shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited the Allan Water Cafe for lunch recently. The cafe is in the main street of the charming village of Bridge of Allan. It has a lovely old fashioned facade but a modern interior. It is immaculately clean and on the day we visited had a pleasantly busy feel. I had a "fish tea" which included fish and chips, tea and a scoop of ice cream. The fish was perfectly cooked with a crispy batter and the chips were very tasty, freshlly made, crispy on the outside and soft inside. The ice cream was delicious and there was a tempting choice of several flavours. The Allan Water Cafe provides the classic fish and chip shop experience to a good standard. Service is efficient and friendly. It is hard to find a good fish and chip shop so I really enjoyed my visit. I would recommend to anyone who wants a tasty, old fashioned meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in Scotland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This cafe is in the main street in bridge of Allan, a perfect stop off point if you are heading North having visited the Wallace monument or Stirling in general.
We had the fish tea which is fresh fish with lovely batter and freshly made light chips and you get a cup of tea too but the best bit is the little dish of ice cream. It is authentic Italian Ice cream and is delicious. Don't bother with all the fancy flavours just stick with the vanilla and you won't be disappointed.
They also have a Sundae menu with lots the yummiest sundaes ever. The worst bit is deciding which one to have.
This restaurant doesn't look much from the outside( althought the glass extension has made a big difference) but don't let that put you off, it is well worth a visit.
Once you have been once, you'll def want to go back.
I pretend I go to please the kids but i love it just as much myself!
I wish I lived nearer, writing this review has made me want one of these ice creams......NOW!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice cream & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Must be the best ice cream I have tasted very good fish teas and good selection of cakes teas and coffee

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Allan Water Cafe also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The Allan Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Allan Water Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.