We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and efficient and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Falkirk
1 review
“Excellent value for money and efficient and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Our daughter was married in January 2006 and the wedding and reception was in the Royal Hotel. Everything went without a hitch and the staff could.nt do enough for us. We have a large family and relatives travelled from England to be with us - they were delighted with the food and the staff gave them a real Scottish welcome. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Hotel to anyone who is thinking of getting married or indeed anyone who is looking for a break away.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    107
    72
    72
    95
See reviews for
102
186
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night, which was more than enough. On arrival the receptionist said I have given you a better room. Great we thought. On entering room 14 after travelling the stained carpet hallways, the first thing that hit me was the smell of must. I would hate to see the not so good rooms. As only they’re for 1 night just got on with my arrangements. The bed was very small for a double as was the room. I ran myself a bath only to find that the water was brown. Gave up and went for breakfast (which was 8am till 10am) at 9.15am. We were greeted by a nice pleasant girl who told us that she didn’t have a table and to sit in lounge for a few mins. The lounge was also full so had to stand in the reception. She came back 2 mins later and seated us for breakfast; there was hardly anything to see on the buffet table. She said sorry there isn’t a lot we have been busy. Not a bother to me as I am a celiac so I had my own. Reported the discoloured water and she said I will look into it. She came back and said that house keeping said it always the same it’s when the tank empties then refills. We left 10 mins later after paying the full bill.
This hotel is very old and run down. My advice is to stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My partner and I attended a wedding there last week and decided to stay over to make a weekend out of it! The whole day was excellent with the service in the hotel and then our first class meal followed by the evening reception....even Scotland managed three points as well! The function rooms downstairs and upstairs have been refurbished along with the public bar. Our bedroom was of a good size and we had a peak at the bridal suite which has just been refurbished, it is gorgeous! I spoke with the manager who ensured me that all the bedrooms were to be refurbished to the same high standard. We cannot wait to head back for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in room 26 and it was very comfortable. The food was excellent and more than enough in quantity - we were stuffed! The location was perfect as we took the car and drove to Glasgow and Dundee on different days, another day we went by train to Edinburgh (the boys would have gone free on Scotrail but we didn't find out until after we'd bought tickets from the machine on the platform at Bridge of Allan). The hotel staff were very friendly and professional and we had a great deal on the room, DB&B. We are in a recession and bits of the hotel could do with updating but we got four star treatment at a two star price and are in no doubt that the friendly staff and excellent food are worth much more than perfect surroundings and snooty staff. I would recommend this hotel to people who know real value and quality when they see it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Our room was damp, mildew on curtains, poor lighting, no mattress protectors on bed staff unfriendly and not many of them, breakfast yuk! and table missing sideplates, napkins, menu. The hotel is in need of a refit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel, whist visitng family in stirling. The staff very welcoming and friendly. The hotel was extremely busy and was hosting a wedding fair. We attended the wedding fair, due to one of my daughters getting married next year. It was well organised, the staff were very helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed a good breakfast, the window frames showed signs of being paint on paint. Given the age of this hotel, felt it was acceptable. Great value for money. We will use this hotel again. Beautiful dinning areas ad funtion suite at reasonable prices for a wedding or function.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardnamurchan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Ripp off prices for inadequate squeaky floored grime covered carpet, single bedded room with shower connected with no cold water supply!! Perhaps that's why the waiter stank! No kettle in room - plenty of stains to suggest that there had been one. Advert on the web suggested satellite TV - mine looked like it had been thrown out of a 12th floor doss house then kicked around a few pubs in Striling after a Friday night session. One channel available. Staff were obviously aware of inadequacies and were generally very friendly but thin on the ground for a full hotel. Food was lacking a chef. Breakfast was lacking heat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.