We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Bologna

Vecchia Bologna
Mine Road, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4DT, Scotland
01786 833617
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Beautiful quite setting, private gardens and large car park. open 7 days lunch and dinner
Alloa, scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came on a groupon deal and were very impressed with the food. I realise that any restaurant does not make much in the way of a profit through groupon but use it as a way of getting new custom. In our case this certainly worked as we purchased a loyalty card and returned the next day for Sunday lunch with an elderly parent. Both times the food was excellent and good value. As we are both non-meat eaters we found the choice to be more than acceptable. The waiting staff were attentive, chatty and friendly and, judging by the number of people in the place (on both days) the restaurant was very popular. We intend to make this a regular haunt, hence the loyalty card. I was very tempted to give this a 'terrible' rating just to read what the owner would have written in response as we read his comments and really enjoyed them!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir
thank you for your positive comment.
Nowadays i try not to reply to ANY comment but in this case you put a smile on my face and i wanted to thank you for it. !!!!
I am afraid indeed to come across as a person not willing to accept criticisms and i would have liked in the past to have been able to say : Yes you are right we made a mistake. Unfortunatly i know that at least 2 of the negative comments were left with malicious intent. For example the one were the reviewers have only posted a negative comment for my restaurant and then nothing more for the last 2 years.!!! One more was posted by a friend of a person we employed for a few days....but there i am again ,taking this matter probabilly too personally.!!!!!!!! Just let me thank you for the opportunity to let vent my disappointment for having a good score spoiled.
Regards
Claudio & the menichetti Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    57
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went there with a Groupon deal and had a two course lunch with coffee.
We hadnt been there before but will definitely go again.

We had the pate and the tricolore salad both of which were very good and with substantial portions. We then both had pizza and it was one of the best I have tasted - thin base but lots of topping.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Super place to eat- a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The restaurant is lovely and spacious. The staff are very polite and helpful.
The food was superb. My husband had mussels and I had a salad to start. Both delicious. For our main courses we had sea bass with veg. and a spaghetti bolognese. Super mains.
This is a great place to eat and the menu was varied and catered for everyone.
I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Used a groupon voucher for an early evening meal. good selection to choose from. i had minestrone soup followed by chefs spaghetti. the soup was delicious, full of veg. good portion of bread and butter served too. chefs spaghetti was very tasty, couldn't fault it!
Restaurant was very quiet when we got there but soon filled up.
Staff all very pleasant and attentive. Will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland Uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The setting for this restaurant is excellent, a beautiful building in a lovely scenic area, our visit was a Groupon voucher, and we were pleasantly surprised, the quality of the meal was excellent and whilst there we reviewed the Al a Carte menu, for possible future use, and were again pleasantly surprised at the availabilty of value for money choices on the menu, amongst others we considered rather expensive, but we will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Bologna also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to Vecchia Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.