We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel
Hamilton Road, Strathaven ML10 6SZ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I could not recommend this hotel highly enough as a place to stay, eat, or (in our case) as a wedding venue. After some consideration of different venues in Lanarkshire, we chose this hotel for our wedding this summer. This was on reccomendation from some friends, and from discussion with Sheila and Malcolm where we were very reassured that we were in safe hands. We were not dissapointed at all. We were hugely impressed by the fantastic service, the great atmosphere in the hotel, and above all the food (which is what our guests continue to praise - often moreso than my wife's dress and everything else!). We hope some of our friends and family will chose this venue for their weddings so that we can go back and enjoy the food again, this time without the nerves! Honeymoon suite is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
29
2
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during the Strathaven balloon festival and couldn't have wished for better accommodation, service and location. The breakfast was excellent and late nights at the bar were superb, the bar tender gave me my first 'long vodka' - perfect choice! I hope we stay in this hotel again next year!

Room Tip: I can't seem to remove swimming pool & fitness centre from my ratings - the hotel does not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scawby
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business, the room was clean & bright over looking a rear small lawned garden.

All the usual refinements, large bed, flat screen tv, tea, coffee & hot chocolate, hair dryer etc.

I travelled with a colleague & we ate in the lounge bar, our starters were both good (Stornaway black pudding & crumbed Brie with cranberry), the mains a little disappointing (Seafood linguine & Rib eye steak) but we didn't leave anything so was acceptable & good value. Breakfast however was excellent...really enjoyed it & a good start for the day.

This old country house style hotel clearly makes for a good wedding or party venue & in all fairness perfectly acceptable for our needs plus we enjoyed free wifi which is always a bonus.

It's above average & overall no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the hotel-1st August. The venue was first class.The atmosphere, food and service were excellent. Sheila and her staff could not have been more attentive. Sheila seemed to be on hand at all times to ensure everything went smoothly.
The function suite looked so pretty. A superb choice of venue.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business trip. Booked via Late Rooms. Paid extra for single occupancy of double room. The smallest double room I have ever stayed in. Could hear all discussions in reception whilst in room. There was a fire door just outside room which banged 3 times every time it shut. Every time someone walked past my room you got creaking floorboards along with the banging fire door accompanied later on by the bathroom extractor fan in the adjoining room. Was woken for the third time by someone having a conversation just outside my room (not the Hotel's fault I suppose ). So gave up and went for a walk.
Eventually got some sleep only to be woken up at 5.45am by the alarm in the next room.
In my opinion, if you want a decent nights sleep in a reasonably size room do not stay here.
Bar food was OK. £4.00 for a pint of lager.
Did mention my concerns at reception when checking out. Just a muttered an apology.
This venue need some serious maintenance.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for business and not impressed as was booked for a twin bedded room but ended up in a single room. Every floorboard creaks in the place. The shower in my room was no more than a fast drip. Th e decor needs updating.
The bar food is tasty and a fair selection. Most staff were friendly, one of he bar maids were a bit miserable and not very helpful with her knowledge of the local area. We enquired about a Chinese restaurant, but later found out it was just a take away.
Location is ok if you want to drive as there is nothing to walk to. So not great.
Drinks are very expensive at the bar.
We were supposed to stay for 2 weeks but changed hotels to some where nearer to our business
As just too far out.
Worst thing though was that when. First arrived, I could not find the tv remote, but found it under the bed next too a half eaten bag of crisps! So cleaning is not the best.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

On 24 July my wife and I hosted a family gathering at this hotel, and I would like to pay a huge vote of thanks to Malcolm and Sheila and their team in making the day go with a "sparkling zing" from the start and helping us to ensure it was a great success. We had our wedding reception here in 1972, and have used the hotel many times since then. Malcolm and Sheila have built a business they can justifiably be proud of. I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone who wants to have a family get together; it is an excellent venue, they and their tem excellent service and super food . Well done!!

MikeP

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel

Address: Hamilton Road, Strathaven ML10 6SZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Strathaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel Scotland
Strathaven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.