We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had poor nights sleep due to noise outside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Popinjay Hotel to your Saves list
Popinjay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Narrogin, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Had poor nights sleep due to noise outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Found this hotel through lastminute when I searched for Glasgow, but be advised it is a good 15-20 minute drive to the city. It is however situated in a pretty little village in the Clyde Valley which involved a trek along along some icy winding roads. When we arrived the receptionist told me the quote from lastminute was wrong, and I would have to pay extra. When I showed her the confirmation email she said she would have to talk to the Manager. We were given the choice of a Triple with a double bed or a room that slept 4 on singles. We took the key to room 8, the Triple. The room was very ordinary, too small for a dedicated triple and only had towels for 1! As we were only staying 1 night we didn't bother. The bathroom was old and had mould in the grout. When we tried to watch the (old) TV only a few channels worked and the picture was poor. So we turned the TV off and tried to sleep only to be kept awake by the incessant droning from the air conditioning units outside of the window. It was comparable to trying to sleep in an airplane! Wireless internet was included in the price.

We did have breakfast as part of the deal. This was well cooked, to our order, and served by a waitress who looked after us. We couldn't try the haggis as it was out of stock.

This hotel looks the goods when you walk in, but our stay proved it was only superficial. If the new owners are refreshing this business they still have a ways to go. I was not asked again to pay more, and would have refused after the night we had.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    107
    72
    36
    24
See reviews for
53
164
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We saw two of the rooms that have been refurbished and they looked very modern. Our room was dated but it looked out onto lovely gardens.Swimming pool and spa were great for our relaxation and we felt so pampered with the massage we had in the salon.
All the staff were second to none and nothing was too much trouble.The new owners are certainly putting a lot of effort into making this a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel while working with the company, the Hotel is going thru an amazing transformation! the public areas are beautiful with fires piano and afternoon tea it has a lot to offer. The Kitchen is very accomplished a new Bistro offers a great fish pie.
I read today the daily record gave very high marks in a review and I look forward to my next stay over..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Having read the reviews I was very nervous about booking in here. I remember the Popinjay from many years ago when our family would celebrate special occasions, a birthday or even a wedding there.

We heard that the hotel had been taken over in June 2009 by a group of local businessmen who wanted to turn it around and re-establish its former glory and so we decided to celebrate another family birthday there and give it a try. We knew that the rooms would not have been refurbished yet but that renovations were under way.

The location by the riverbank is pretty and there are good walks in the area - and the hotel has fishing rights. There's also a health club and a beauty salon, neither of which we used.

We were welcomed at reception and shown to our rooms which were clean, if rather dated, with tired looking furniture and furnishings - as we'd expected. However, the refurb is under way and as we were up by 8.30 for breakfast, were not inconvenienced by the noise that started shortly afterwards. Breakfast was fine - prompt service and a selection of cereals, toast and marmalade / jams followed by a cooked selection of porridge, bacon, sausage, eggs, black pudding and haggis or kippers (20 mins to order).

We had drinks in the stylish new bar and dinner in the revamped bistro with generous portions and some unusual dishes - chicken and haggis pie. The service was fine - no complaints and we felt they were really making an effort.

The birthday lunch went well and we felt the staff had really made an effort to make it a special occasion when the chef came out to check that we had enjoyed everything.

It will take some time for the Popinjay to recover its old charm but there's a real feeling that they're trying hard. A considerable sum is being spent on the refurbishment and once this is complete, it should be worth another visit. In the short term, be prepared for the old rooms and the construction noise, but we'd certainly consider staying there again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popinjay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.