We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Popinjay Hotel to your Saves list
Popinjay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here on 11.02.2013 for 1 night Dinner bed & breakfast £65 special. Arrived and was given a good welcome by reception, check in first class. Went to room and very chic, leisure centre was well appointed fresh warm towels. Dinner was superb. Breakfast was ample. Check out very efficient. Great stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and friends in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    107
    71
    36
    24
See reviews for
53
164
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Popinjay, excellent staff, wonderful food, excellent leisure facilities, well equipped rooms with strong wi-fi, very comfortable bed in a quiet surrounding, I never had a bad stay here and always get a fantastic room rate - why stay anywhere else?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited this hotel about 6 years ago when looking at wedding venues, however were not very impressed. On first impressions the refurbishment looks good, nice friendly check in and we were shown to our room 17. The room was small but nicely decorated with a lovely en-suite bath/shower. The window was frosted glass which was a bit odd but as the view was out to the back of another part of the hotel, there would not be much to see anyway. The window was open when we arrived so we assumed this was the reason the room was cold, we shut the window and settled in, however the room did not heat up and we discovered that the heating did not appear to be working. We reported this to reception who said someone would look at it. We went for a coffee in the bar and went back up to our room about an hour later. Our card key was not working (both of them) so my husband went back down to reception and got another two. Once in the room again it was colder than before so obviously still no heating, my husband went down to reception again and said the room was really quite cold and could we please get someone to sort this. We dressed quickly for dinner and someone came to look at the radiator, which he said needed bled and went to get some tool and said he would be back. We went down for dinner at 6.30pm, hoping by the time we returned the heating would be sorted.

The food was very nice but looking at the prices we were glad we had a voucher for £40 off our bill. We ordered a main course and some drinks, the main course took some time to come but was beautifully presented and we didn't mind too much. After our main course the waitress took the plates away and we sat for some 45 minutes, nobody asked if we would like a desert or any more drinks, we eventually managed to get a waitresses attention and ask politely if we could see a desert menu, I think they had forgotten about us as our original waitress seemed to have vanished, this was probably why. We asked for the bill and waited again for some time before getting up to leave and sorting the bill out at the bar. Please don't get me wrong the staff were polite and very nice but we had two courses and had been in the restaurant for almost 3 hours, service was painfully slow. We returned to our room where, the radiator was still cold and the room very cold. So yet again my husband went down to reception and asked them to please do something about it as it was unacceptable. The same staff member came back with another female member of staff who managed to bleed the radiator and get the heat back on finally. We did however feel very bad since the lady in question was quite obviously expecting a baby shortly.

The hotel is old and you can hear every creak, there was a rhythmic tapping noise intermittently which obviously sounded louder once the tv was off and everyone had gone to bed. In the morning my husband went for a shower before breakfast and there was no hot water to be had. We noticed the washbasin the night before but as we were just washing hour hands it was not too big an issue, however you do expect the shower to be working properly. We washed as best we could and went down for breakfast. it was okay but nothing special buffet style but no other cooked to order food. Even the coffee and tea was served in an urn and when my husband went to get a cup of tea there were no cups just dirty empty ones that people had used. Some of the hot food needed replenished but nobody appeared to be checking this or doing anything about it. We packed up and left shortly afterwards and did inform reception about the shower which they apologised for.

We went on one of the Great Deals vouchers and had we paid full price for this would have been demanding some money back.

The hotel has made some good improvements, however there does appear to be some underlying issues which need to be addressed with the plumbing. Rooms should be checked before guests arrived to ensure that the heating and showers are working properly. Service needs to be quicker and if staff go off ensure that whoever is taking over knows what stage customers are at with their meals. Pricing in the restaurant and bar is too expensive for a small country hotel and needs to be more realistic.

I will say however, the staff at all time were polite, apologetic and a credit to the hotel, there does appear to be the same staff doing a variety of different tasks at the same time, which leads to long delays or things being forgotten. I don' t think we will be back any time soon but hope that the hotel will read the feedback and deal with these problems.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to the Popinjay last night with my wife for dinner and an overnight stay They were charging
17.50/£19.50 for a bottle of rose wine a disgrace.
We got a phone call in the early hours of Sunday morning our 19 year old son had been taken to hospital we had to leave early without paying the bill for £11,58 even although we missed having breakfast due to an accident they still took the money from my wife today when she phoned the hotel. So Popinjay you owe us a breakfast which we have paid for.

Room Tip: Bring the price of your wine down
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days. Allocated room18 it was a disabled room but we were not disabled. However our friend was and they were allocated room 19. This was also disabled so was ok. We decided not to move. This was a mistake as the shower room got completely soaked once you had a shower and so did the toilet, sink and shelf. Shower room smelled of damp. Room it's self was ok but view was of a junk storage area. Lighting is poor and not suitable for reading or working. The food was good but portion sizes varied. I had the Niçoise salad as a starter on first night it was excellent so decided to have it as a main on the second night. It was 6 pounds more and the same size as the starter. Service was slow on both nights but the waitresses and young manager were friendly and helpful. I was especially impressed with the waitress on the second night who asked if everything was ok, informed the relative people of our complaints and then later came back to check it had been dealt with. The delay was due to the kitchen staff and not the waiting staff I may add. We were suitably recompensed when we checked out.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is just lovely, could not find any faults at all. The food was brilliant, great selection of foods, catering for all, and very reasonably priced. Drinks a bit expensive though, £6 for a glass of wine, you tend to expect that from hotels. Also a great selection for breakfast too. The spa, jacuzzi, swimming it was all just so relaxing. Good size pool, spotless too. Highly recommend it, I will definitly be booking to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to The Popinjay last Sunday for my Birthday.

Went on Glasgow Great deal offer, fantastic value and exceeded all expectations. Spa really nice, service excellent, amazing food.

We stayed in a refurbished roon with a four poster bed it was great.

Cant recommend this hotel enough, we will definately be back.

Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask fir a refurbished room if they hace obe....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popinjay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.