We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Lead Mining

Museum of Lead Mining
| The Visitor Centre, Wanlockhead Village, Biggar ML12 6UT, Scotland
+44 1659 74387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Biggar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum of Lead Mining, is situated in Wanlockhead Village, which is the highest village in Scotland, we are 1531 feet above sea level. At the museum we have our Visitor Centre, Tour of Scotland's only real underground Lead Mine, 3 Period Cottages 1750,1850 and 1910. We also have the 2nd Oldest Subscription Library with the original collection of almost 3,000 books, which is the original Miners' collection. This is a Recognised Collection. If you would like to sample Gold Panning you can try one of our taster sessions. After your tour you can sit and relax in our Tearoom and sample the delightful homemade treats on offer, then finally you can visit our Gift Shop which hosts Local Crafts, Minerals, and lots more. Wanlockhead is known as a SSSI Site of Special Scientific Interest.
Blantyre, Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were staying at a nearby hotel who gave us a voucher for 10% off our entry fee. It had been raining heavy but that's nothing out of the ordinary here. We hadn't planned to visit but if you do make sure you wear decent shoes for when you go into the mine as it is very damp underfoot. Wellies would be ideal.
Our guide Julie was very knowledgeable about the history of the mine and the workers.
The cottages depict life over 3 different times, 1750, 1850 and the 1920's and shows the difference in the lifestyle of the workers. Very interesting with things you will recognise from your Granny's house.
The museum was good with lots of information available.
There is a gift shop too with lots of hand made goods.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a trip to this place shortly after the major snow across Galloway. The place was only partly open because of this but loved it all the same. The place is almost like a model village! There are some exhibits about lead mining but the best for me was the preserved cottages from the ages of mining. The guide had great delivery of his vast knowledge and brought the place to life. I'd like to go back to see the rest of the place, especially to try gold panning. There was no chance of this because the place was frozen solid!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really does need a fine day this trip as the various areas of the museum are spread out across the village so needs a bit of walking.

Within the mine itself the tour guide was excellent and appeared well enthused about his job.
The cottages weren't so great for our group as the guide said hardly anything and we had to coax information from him.
The library really was outstanding and explained how the people of the community actually had it quite good compared to their coal mining contemporaries.
Gold panning- what can I say ? Who has kids that don't want to find and keep their own gold ? what big kid in us grown ups don't want to ? An excellent activity.

All in all a lovely day out in splendid surroundings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great place to view the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The weather on the day of our visit was horrendous and it made the visit even more complete! The lead industry and community were used to harsh conditions and the horizontal rain and gale force winds reinforced just what a hard life these people had. Well displayed and presented stories in a creative museum, the mine tour and cottage visit was enhanced by our guide Tony. With knowledge and humour, despite the rain made for an entertaining visit, thanks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Spring mining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The whole village is one big museum. You can turn around without looking at a piece of history, or a piece of beautiful scenery. Unfortunately the mine tour was closed due to adverse weather, but in a place like this that has to be expected. The library was beautiful the beam engine a real piece of engineering history and the village has been held as a moment in time. Well worth a step back and if you get a good day with the weather all the better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Lead Mining also viewed

Carluke, South Lanarkshire
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
 
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Museum of Lead Mining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Lead Mining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.