We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village pub at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
109 - 111 High Street, Biggar ML12 6DL, Scotland
01899 220116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Biggar
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: THE CROWN INN, Real Pub, Real Ale, Real Food!Open from 11am (12.30 Sun) until midnight apart from Friday when we're open until 1am.Food served everyday from 12 till 8.30pmWe were acredited by the Scottish Tourist Board and achieved the prestigious 'Eat Scotland' award in September 2006. In August 2007 (AWARDED AGAIN 2008,2009,2010,2011 & 2012)after vigourous testing we were awarded the prestigious Cask Marque award for excellence in Real Ales. We have since been reevaluated and were awarded full marks! In June 2008 (AWARDED AGAIN 2012) we have been accepted into the Scotch Beef Club after an extensive testing programme. All of our beef is sourced from Scottish farms and is hung for a minimum of 28 days ensuring that it is always of the highest quality and packed with flavour.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Village pub at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the crown the atmosphere was warm and welcoming, the food we had was excellent value for money with a great choice even for vegetarians.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    130
    40
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Enjoyed a family Sunday lunch here with friends. Traditional pub atmoshpere - cosy on the wintery day we visited. Great qaulity food - a plentiful carvery - very moreish! Great value for money too. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good and unpretentious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Ten of us had a bar lunch here on a cold, wet day. Good food, good beer and a real fire. The place was pretty crowded which is a good indication of how good the food and beer actually is.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed everything about the crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The place is cosy,staff are people friendly and happy to chat when you want,food was excellent and service was very good and value for food was good too,overall applause all round :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas dinner amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Popped in with grand kids for Christmas dinner on Thursday and food was amazing to say the least turkey dinner was first class.
Well done to all and chef!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.