We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, certainly not last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant

Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant
Coulter | Cornhill House, Biggar ML12 6QE, Scotland
01899 220 001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Biggar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tain, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First time, certainly not last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wife and I took our mums here for Easter Sunday lunch. The food was quite simply outstanding, large selection of excellent starters, roasts fish and chicken tempura were all first class quality and perfectly cooked and presented, deserts (though precious little space left for them!), were quite stunning. service was very attentive and friendly but not intrusive. I read in other reviews suggestions that maybe better if no wedding was taking place and perhaps in their case they were unlucky. We were there Easter Sunday, restaurant was fully booked plus there was a wedding party in. It certainly did not affect the level of attention of the staff who welcomed and served us nor the quality of the food. Can't wait to make a return visit. Final point, the location is superb and sets the whole thing off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful relaxed setting and homely cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The cornhill is in a beautiful setting lovely views I liked being able to choose my meal in the relaxed bar area and then going to eat in the dining room. The food was what I would call homely cooking but very enjoyable

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I returned here after being initially disappointed in February with the quality of the food. What a difference!
The staff and setting were as lovely as before but the food was a tremendous success. All of it was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. We will definitely be back....our first visit must have just been a bad day! Both very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed this visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegance plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

During our 2013 Scottish trip, The Cornhill House Bistro was a must for us. The old fashioned service of being seated in the bar, ordering your meal over a cocktail, and then being ushered into the dining room when your meal was ready was great and just so relaxing. The roaring fire was romantic for an after dinner coffee and conversation in a relaxed atmosphere. The bar staff and serving staff were quiet, accommodating and nothing was a trouble if you wanted to change your mind. Elegance and silver service that I have not had in Australia. The food was good and hearty Scottish fare and reasonably priced. Would certainly go back again for that old world charm. Also the House was of fantastic architecture and contained some fine antiques.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Non residents not welcome”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stopped off for a quick drink when driving my visiting English neice around the borders. Says at the gate that non-residents are welcome, not true. After driving up the long drive and entering the hotel, we were pounced on by a receptionist who said they were too busy to accomodate us. The bar was nearly empty but I'm sure at sunday lunchtime, they will be busy later.
If they aren't interested in passing trade, they should indicate this at the start of the drive instead of being very unwelcoming.

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornhill1, Manager at Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
This was a most unusual occurrence and we would wish to offer the reviewer our apologies.

Cornhill does what it says on the sign and generally welcomes non residents. However, there can be a point during an unusually busy day when we simply run out of space and cannot accommodate during that time, greater numbers than those already booked.
Whilst the Bar may have had the appearance of being quiet at the time of your visit, if a large number of guests are expected we have to retain seating for their arrival.

Once again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornhill House Bistro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.