We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for my husbands 50th birthday as...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmlands Bed and Breakfast

Holmlands Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biggar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmlands Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Holmlands Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Carlisle Road | Crawford, Biggar ML12 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Holmlands Country House)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Biggar B&B and Inns
england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stayed for my husbands 50th birthday as...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for my husbands 50th birthday as part of a trip around Scotland. Nothing was too much trouble and Verena made him a beautiful cake in the shape of his beloved Triumph GT6!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

the warmest friendliest welcome ever. This was the first time we have stayed at a pet friendly BnB and the emphasis is on 'pet' and 'friendly' and would deffinately do so again. We would like to thank Verena, Graham and their lovely family for making our stay so comfortable and relaxing. The rooms are comortable and decorated to a high standard and cater for all your needs. The breakfast is something special, don't miss out on it.
Thanks
Regards
Pam, Steve and Barney( one very content black labrador)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed for one night, arrived late and were offered a welcome pot of tea in the lounge. Our room was well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a shower room.
Breakfast had a good range of choices including fruit salad, scotch pancakes and various cooked options. Both the ingredients and cooking were of a high standard.
This bed and breakfast is a much more inviting prospect than staying in a chain hotel at one of the motorway services - and the cost, including a quality breakfast, is probably not much different.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The website information led us to book by phone and our visit confirmed everything
the site promised. We were met with a very warm welcome and cup of tea before settling into our room with lovely views over the river Clyde. Fabulous curtains, with beautifully detailed thistles, a theme followed through in the well thought out details within this charming house with a real homely feel. Excellent facilities in the fully tiled shower room and double room including extra blankets, even mints and cotton buds as well as biscuits with the range of hot drinks. On our first night we took advantage of the variety of options from the 3 course menu and enjoyed the home cooking, particularly the sticky toffee pudding! Breakfast again provided lots of options including fresh strawberries, cereals, fish etc. Holmlands eggs scrambed with smoked salmon in generous portions just like the full Scottish breakfast - a great start to a day touring the area including a surprise walking down to New Lanark with its impressive history.
Biggar too was a good visit, with independent shops including a couple of delis and several coffee shops to choose from.
Holmlands is very convenient for the M74, but no road noise. Also quiet in being just out of the village and with open views. We felt very welcome here into a home that was clearly cared for, just like the guests. A great level of service, attentive to just the right level.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

An Edwardian property with great views of the Clyde Valley. A very comfortable b&b with an eclectic mix of furnishing and fittings. The bedroom was well appointed, the bed was comfortable and the en suite facilities were good. Verena and Graham made us feel very welcome and the evening meal and breakfast were both excellent. A great place to stay overnight en route to The Highlands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed here whilst walking from John O'Groats to Lands End & had an excellent twin en-suite room (bath & shower), which had been completed to a very high standard. I was welcomed with tea & biscuits, sitting outside in the sun. I had a superb evening meal & breakfast was excellent, with a good choice (inc fish). There were also lovely views from the front of the property. One of the best of the 55 B&Bs that I stayed at on my trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

My wife and myself in one car, son and family in another had driven down that day from Inverness. It was late and we had not pre-booked but nevertheless Verena and Graham quickly welcomed us into the best B&B we all had ever stayed at and it was no problem for Verena to find us dinner. A beautiful setting, a warm and comfortable home. well furnished with big rooms The food... superb, enormous breakfast fit for a king.

We will pass that way again just for the opportunity to stay there again and pick up one of Grahams hand made walking sticks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Carlisle Road | Crawford, Biggar ML12 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Holmlands Country House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helen and John would like to welcome you to their family run Bed and Breakfast.Located just off the M74 in South Lanarkshire. We are situated in a quiet rural location convenient for visiting Scottish Borders, Lanark, Biggar and Moffat. Glasgow and Edinburgh are within an hours drive. Built in 1903, this interesting Edwardian property sits in an acre of land with our own vegetable plot and free ranging hens and ducks providing a rich supply of our own produce.surrounded by rolling hills of the Clyde Valley. It is such a great place for a short break any time of year. Holmlands is an ideal location for an overnight stay to or from the Highlands and Islands. With direct access to the M74/M8 and the A702 Biggar to Edinburgh road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmlands Bed And Breakfast Biggar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmlands Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.