We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foothills Milling Company

Foothills Milling Company
315 S Washington St, Maryville, TN 37804-5813
865-977-8434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Maryville
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were recommended strongly to check out this restaurant while visiting the area. We called the same day for reservations but they had no openings until 8:15pm. However, the wait was well worth it. The restaurant itself doesn't look like much from the outside but the inside is very fancy and intimate. One of the best dinner's we've ever had. The menu is small but I would imagine each dish is delicious. Both of our plates were presented extremely well and tasted even better! We live in Chicago and have no had a fine dining experience like this before. Highly recommend checking it out, but call for reservations days in advance as they book up quickly! The entrees range from $20-40 but they probably could have charged twice that amount for our entrees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Driving from Gatlinburg toward Maryville, we checked T/A, noted this establishment, and subsequently found a lot more than we were expecting.
It's a far more elegant, upscale establishment than we inferred from the reviews, yet has a casual atmosphere. Urban / suburban sophistication in a small town, located in a beautifully restored old building near the center of downtown.
The limited menu closely follows the "new South" motif. The food and service were very good, but it's pricey. The affable owner greeted and entertained the patrons while we were there.
Recommended but pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Used to frequent Foothills Milling when it was in Wears Valley when I traveled to Gatlinburg on business. Excellent then in 2006 and did not disappoint today. Quail biscuits, goat cheese tart, pork shoulder to salmon everything exceeded all of our expectations. Friends upset with me I have told them about this place sooner

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sssh...don't tell everyone about this spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

the only reason not to give this place your best review, is it will make it harder to get a reservation here if everyone knows. What a great meal, and service! Fried green tomatoes, pork meatloaf, truffeled mac & cheese, fillet, stuffed baked potatoes...every thing we had was great. Can't wait until we are in Maryville again next year, to enjoy another dinner here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“superb innovative food in an unprepossessing building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We decided. to dine here on the basis of the reviews and were not disappointed.
It has to be said that the building does not look like a typical fine dining establishment. The food and service were outstanding. I had smoked pork and shrimp with black rice which was splendid and my wife enjoyed her rack of lamb. The staff accommodated for my wife's inability to eat cheese admirably and even rustled up a substitute amuse bouche to avoid the cheesy one everybody else had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foothills Milling Company also viewed

 

Been to Foothills Milling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foothills Milling Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.