We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sister know the owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
409 N Cusick St, Maryville, TN 37804
(865) 983-6022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 127 Restaurants in Maryville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madisonville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My sister know the owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My sister used to take me to this restaurant all the time. She knows the owners and they are wonderful people. They make authentic mexican food and it tastes marvelous. You can't beat this place for service and flavor. If you are in Maryville this place is definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HECTOR ROCKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Los Amigos is the best Mexican food in town! Great burritos, tamales, enchilladas, etc. Wonderful service - Hector Gomez is the real deal - and his staff is well trained and efficient. Love this place

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not as good as once was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

They seemed to have gotten comfortable in what they do. This is just a normal mexican restaurant. It is good just not great. They have lost their heart for what they do.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Popular With The Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Los Amigos is a Tex-Mex style restaurant located in the downtown Maryville vicinity and is very popular with local residents. I've eaten here several times over the years when I was in town and the service and food has always been very good. After living in Texas and New Mexico for many years it's hard for me to be objective about Mexican food outside the southwestern US. It's definitely a good choice for Mexican food in the area and one of the better Tex-Mex options in northeast Tennessee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“They know how to make a Chimichanga!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I were in Maryville late afternoon yesterday when hunger pangs set in. Since our transplant to East Tennessee, we have been on a mission to find the perfect chimichanga. Four months of searching have yielded the same bland, meat-filled tortilla smothered in cheese sauce. Undaunted, we YELP'ed Los Amigos in Maryville. The reviews were good so we gave it a try, and are we ever glad we did. We have found the Holy Grail of Chimichangas in East Tennessee!

CHIMICHANGAS (chih-mee-CHAHNG-gahs) are not a traditional Mexican dish, nor are they an East Tennesseean dish. It was in fact developed in Arizona where legislation is currently pending to name it the official state food. When prepared correctly, the sultry, mouth-watering spices that saturate this tasty pastry from the inside to the outside is the stuff of passion, legends, lust and romance.

Los Amigos is an authentically decorated Mexican restaurant, located along the river park in Maryville and was fairly busy even at 3:30 pm. The staff was pleasant and friendly, the bathrooms immaculately clean, the floor polished and the smell of fajitas and spices in the air made my tummy growl even louder.

The chimichangas on the Los Amigos menu are described as every other chimi we have eaten thus far; meat on the inside, beans and rice on the outside, smothered in cheese sauce. But since we both were craving an Arizona-style chimichanga we decided to test the mettle of the kitchen staff to see if they could put aside everything they knew about chimis to learn anew how to prepare a genuine chimichanga, Arizona-style.

The owner of the restaurant was sympathetic to our request and listened carefully as we explained how the sauteed onions, rice, beans, chicken and sour cream must be blended and rolled up INSIDE the flour tortilla. After the chimi has been deep fried to a golden crisp, it is plated on a bed of lettuce with one dollop each of salsa, sour cream and guacamole on top (red, white, green) And there you have a genuine Arizona-style chimi!

She repeated our order several times to ensure that she got the ingredients just right. I watched as she walked to the kitchen and explained the process in detail to the ever-alert kitchen staff. Now all we had to do was wait.

Ten minutes later, the finished product arrived at our table. It looked so perfect. The owner and our waiter stood by, like expectant parents, awaiting our exclamation of either ecstacy or disappointment.

We both positioned our knife and fork and with surgical precision, cut through the flaky, crisp tortilla releasing spice-infused steam with succulent aromas of chili, cilantro and garlic. After only one bite, we knew we had found the mother lode of chimichangas!

Thank you Los Amigos. Our search ends here. Even though we live 30 minutes away, we will definitely return and you can be assured that your name will be reverently spoken.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.