We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What It Used To Be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bel Air Grill
101 Keller Lane, Maryville, TN 37801
865.981.3227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Bel Air Grill was originally the best restaurant around to get a burger! Since it closed and reopened things have changed. The new restaurant has poor service (we waited almost 1 hour on the patio with no other tables occupied and few inside). This was during summer of 2012 and we had 3 small children who were hungry! The order came out wrong and the wait got longer. We had to ask for beverage refills everytime we needed them. Do yourself a favor......go to TC Grill on Old Niles Ferry. It has the same menu items and the service and food are much better.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    3
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
“Poor service, bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I ordered the Cajun Pasta and found it to have a bitter taste and an extremely heavy sauce. It was almost sickening to me. Most establishments offer to replace your meal if you do not like it but not Bel-Air Grill. I was hungry so I ate as much as I could tolerate. Also, the building has a musty smell that makes me feel like it is not clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you want a good burger go to Five Guys”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I tried Bel Air when they first opened because i remembered how good it used to be. We had to wait an eternity for a tough burger and overly seasoned fries. I tried this restaurant again with my mom and received chicken fettucine alfredo that looked horrible and the chicken was not cooked properly ..still pink. I asked the server to remove it from my bill and had not eaten a bite to which she replied she could not do that but she could have them recooked. I still did not eat..tasted terrible..will NEVER return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter and I used to love the Bel Air Grill that was in Alcoa and Maryville several years ago. They went out of business and lots of folks missed it. Now they have reopened in the old TGI Friday's location, so we decided to give it a try.

What a disappointment. The hamburgers and fries weren't even close to what we remembered from the old Bel Air Grill. Everything was greasy and mediocre. Ugh.

The restaurant isn't very clean either. The tables are sticky. A young man cleaned off a table close to us and used a wet rag to wipe it down, and the smell that lingered in the air until the table dried was awful. He must have been using that same wet rag for days. Yuck.

We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the Bel-Air I was expecting.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were so glad to hear that Bel-Air Grill wa coming back to Maryville. We waited until the crowd settled down, which was not long, before going. I got ( what hy are famious for) their hamburger/fries. Much to my sorrow, it was one of he worse hamburgers I have ever eaten. I did not even finish it. My fries were not as I remembered them at the Bel-Air Grill on Alcoa Hwy. I was saddened by this. Found out later the name was bought but not the "cook". We will not return unless friends pick this as a place they all want to go and we'll return with them but will not be happy about it. Just very disappointing to us and we have heard others say the same thing. You can get a seat fast now but they say the service is not good t all. Even if you get in, which you can now, the service is very slow.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Air Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.